On Learning

Right, let's try this again.  It's astonishing how many times I've started something over the past seven and three-quarter years, only to be sidetracked very quickly by the CFS rearing up in an ugly way.  Sometimes it's probably a big hint that I'd be well advised to take, but I'm just going to put this lastest dip down to coincidence.  It has been a long, hot summer, and I did well to get as far as I did before the bad spell hit.  CFS and extremes of temperature do not get along at all, so I definitely live in the wrong corner of the world for this ailment!  These bad spells don't happen as often now, so they tend to take me by surprise when they do.  The fatigue and such are a constant, but feeling so truly awful is not, and it's still a bit scary when it happens. I've learned how the cycle works by now, though, so know that I should soon start to pick up again.  Hopefully that happens very soon as I have lots of stuff waiting to be done and it can't be put off for much longer.  The tomatoes are coming thick and fast, I have a few rows of beets to pickle yet, I've promised the man of the house a big batch of homemade marmalade, and a couple of batches of chutney are a must to accompany some of our favourite meat dishes over the coming year.  

Anyhoo, we've now hit the Labour Day weekend, which means that all of the junior members of the population are heading back to school in the coming week.  The summer has sped by for me, so I can't imagine how quickly it has flown for the young ones.  Best wishes for a great year to all of the students in my sphere, and to their parents.  Anyone want to borrow my alarm clock, since I don't need it myself?  *cough, cough*  🙂

Still on the learning theme, I came across this poem recently and it struck a chord in a big way.   I've always loved poetry, but tend to be stuck firmly on the "classics", so clearly I've been missing out by ignoring more modern works.  Note to self … get out of your rut!  

 

You Learn

After a while you learn the subtle difference
Between holding a hand and chaining a soul.

And you learn that love doesn't mean leaning
And company doesn't mean security.
And you begin to learn that kisses aren't contracts
And presents aren't promises,
And you begin to accept your defeats
With your head up and your eyes open

And you learn to build all your roads on today
Because tomorrow's ground is too uncertain for plans
And futures have a way of falling down in mid-flight.
After a while you learn…
That even sunshine burns if you get too much.
So you plant your garden and decorate your own soul,
Instead of waiting for someone to bring you flowers.
And you learn that you really can endure… 
That you really are strong 
And you really do have worth… 
And you learn and learn… 
With every good-bye you learn. 

~Jorge Luis Borges

Hope you all have a lovely long weekend! 

 

P.S. Many thanks to my utterly splendid daughter for the gorgeous new header, and also to the lovely Miss G. for leaving the first comment here at my new home. ♥  

Share a thought

