Happy New Year!

Birthday flowers, my favourite kind of surprise!

Oh hurray, it looks like I’m back in business here again.  I’ve tried to bring an end to my self-imposed blogging exile a few times since the start of the year, but the blogging gods were in a snit and weren’t going to let me back in.  If I hadn’t been able to post tonight, I was going to throw in the towel here and head back to Blogger with my tail between my legs.  Thankfully I seem to have been spared that walk of shame.  Not that it’s shameful to blog over there, but I promised that I’d not be moving again any time soon, and I didn’t want to have to go back on my word.

Anyhoo, we’ve hung new calendars on the wall, and the calendar of my own life flipped to a new page yesterday, so it’s the perfect time for a fresh start at this blogging lark.  And it does feel fresh again, so let’s see if I can keep it up.  I was feeling totally drained again for a while, and it’s absolute essentials only at such times.  As I’ve stated many times, there are peaks and valleys anyway with the CFS, but I’m not terribly good at pacing myself, even after seven years, and it always catches up to me.  Old habits die hard, and it’s a constant struggle to rein myself in, but perhaps common sense will prevail a bit more this year!

I’m just thinking back to see if there’s anything since my last blog post that should be recorded here.  The remainder of the autumn was pretty uneventful, I think, apart from the fact that it seemed to never really end.  We did have a bit of snow and cold in November to make us think that we were heading into winter at the usual time, but then bizarre warmth returned,  and with the lack of snow, this was really the winter that wasn’t until just a couple of days ago.  My birthday week is traditionally the coldest part of the winter, so we had been joking with each other that it would all come crashing down around us for my birthday,  and sure enough, it did.  Alex went out on Monday or Tuesday with just a sweater over a t-shirt, and there was very little in the way of snow around.   Old Man Winter roared into town in full fury on Wednesday, though, and by Thursday night we had a good covering of snow again, and the temperature was -26C. when I shut off my computer for the night.   That’s more like it!  Oh, I know, the break from the usual was nice, and it’s going to make winter seem incredibly short, but we’re used to four distinct seasons here and it didn’t feel right to not have some real winter happening.  It’s also necessary for keeping things in balance in the natural world.  Winter’s cold kills off all sorts of nasties in the soil and such, and also enables our native trees and plants to go through their natural cycles.

December 14th was our 20th wedding anniversary.  Wow, did those years fly by in a hurry!  And how did we celebrate such a momentous occasion?  Why, by having a new bathtub installed.  Beat that for the ultimate romantic gesture! 🙂  It wasn’t intentional, just a brain blip when Richard booked the appointment, but we’re not given to grand gestures anyway, so didn’t see any reason to change it to another date.  A tub full of hot water and epsom salts  is my best friend a lot of the time, and a new one was long overdue, so I was just happy to see it here, regardless of the timing.

The Christmas season as a whole was very nice, and I was thrilled to get the decorating done right on Advent Sunday, as per tradition, and with minimal difficulty.  The cards were a bit of a struggle as I ended up having to rush through all of them at one go, which was too much, but I’ll be prepared next year.  My apologies to those of you who received your card late, and also an apology to collectors  for the lack of Christmas stamps.  I ordered the stamps in early November, as per usual, but they went walkabout and I actually only received them last week.  Luckily I had lots of other stamps on hand, but held on as long as I dared, hoping for the Christmas ones.  The mailing date should have still been fine, but of course this would be the year when Canada Post would push the deadline up by about 10 days.  Sigh.  Oh well, the thought was there, and surely that counts.   Christmas itself was lovely, until I got about halfway through the meal preparations, yet again.  So, I really need to admit defeat there, and we’ll come up with an alternate plan for next year.  It turns out that I’m the only one who’s really in love with a traditional Christmas dinner, and I could have been saving myself a lot of worrying about whether or not I’d be able to pull it off, as well as the actual work,  for years now.  Hmph.  But that’s a small thing, compared to the season in general and yes, like I said, it was lovely!

The new year arrived quietly, as it always does.  You’re seeing a pattern here, right?  We do acknowledge it and all, but party animals we simply are not, and that has nothing to do with energy levels.  New Year’s Eve was never a big deal when I grew up, but Mom used to make something a bit special to eat on New Year’s Day, and that’s how I’ve always done things, too.  It was the same in Richard’s formative years, so no compromises necessary there.

Which brings me to my birthday yesterday.  Yup, you guessed it, a quiet celebration, but what a lovely day it was, right from start to finish.   So lovely, in fact, that I had to take a long nap after eating the scrumptious, luxury fare that Daughter made for my birthday meal.  But hey, I am nudging fifty now, right?   The two with whom I share an abode always spoil me ridiculously well on my birthday, and of course greetings from friends and family, near and far, always make the day special, too.  A big thank you to all of you who took the time to send a greeting, in whatever form – I felt pretty loved by the end of the day!  I’m still basking in the glow, actually, and I expect that it will last for some time to come. 🙂

And now I’m about all talked out for the moment, so I’ll leave off here.  Happy 2012, everyone, and may it be a stupendous year for each and every one of you!

One thought on “Happy New Year!

  1. So good to see a blog post from you and to read all of your news:-) Winter was late in arriving over here as well, we didn’t even have a snowfall until after Christmas. It’s sure making up for lost time now, though…we had a snowstorm yesterday and another one is on the way tonight. As you say, though, with not having had snow in November and December, it will make the winter seem much shorter:-)

    I think getting a new tub put in on your anniversary is awesome! lol Isn’t it funny, though, with all the days in a year and yet the appointment to have it installed would be that day:-) Murphy’s Law comes to mind!! My upstairs bathroom needs a complete overhaul, it still looks the same it did 35 years ago…E keeps saying he’ll do it but never does. I’d love to move out of here and go live near my boys and grandbabies:-)

    Sounds like you had a lovely Christmas and New Year and sometimes it’s the quiet ones that are the most enjoyable. We were in Fort Erie staying with Corey & Kristin and had a fun time:-)

    I do hope my birthday card has reached you by now? I’m so sorry I sent it late, the days just got away from me. I had no doubt, though, that Alex and Richard would make it very special for you:-) Happy Birthday my friend and Happy New Year!! xoxo

Share a thought

