A Mixed Bag

I don’t think that I’ve ever done a post in point form before, but this seems like as good a time as any to let fly with one.  Lots of random snippets are flitting through my head, all unrelated to each other, which is what a point form post is all about, right?

1)   It’s snowing as I type at 4:00 a.m., and has been doing so for at least the past hour.   It’s our first snow of the season and, while it’s not going to amount to much, there’s enough accumulating on rooftops, steps, etc. to look rather pretty.  No doubt there will be gasps of dismay from many quarters, but it made me smile.  After all of the heat this past summer and autumn, I’m looking forward to winter.  And yes, you can remind me that I said that come mid-January when winter is at its most ferocious.  I realized years ago that I’m much more of a cold weather person, and that’s especially true since the onset of CFS.   This is just a little blip on the weather radar, though, and there will be more nice weather before winter arrives in earnest.  If the forecast holds true, Halloween will be quite mild, which is always a treat for the little ones.  And their parents.  My toes start to tingle at the mere mention of the day, remembering all of the cold ones spent tromping around with my little trick or treater way back when.

2)  Speaking of my girl, she’s not at all well at the moment, so if you can spare a bit of whatever it is that you do to send positive energy out into the world, it would be greatly appreciated.   I don’t panic about much of anything these days, and am not in a panic now, but the mild to moderate concern of the past few days has been stepped up a few notches over the past eight hours.  She also has CFS, as most of you know, so even a relatively minor virus can turn ugly for her.  While the immune system is compromised, it’s also in constant overdrive, so we’ve both actually done well at not picking up any really nasty viruses for quite some time now.  However, she didn’t stand a chance with a woman hacking and sneezing all over the waiting room at a recent appointment.  Ugh.  She passed it on to me, but the respiratory stuff hasn’t taken hold, thank goodness.    I always feel like I have the flu anyway, so it’s just the usual,  intensified a bit.

3)  I was going to let this blog stand on its own, but it was feeling a bit bare, so I’ve moved my archives over, as well as some other “necessities”.  Unless WordPress goes kaboom,  I won’t be moving my blog again, regardless of who does or doesn’t start hanging around over here, so it seemed right to move in properly.   I’m also way, way, way over trying to conceal my real identity.  I’m not going to flaunt it, but honestly, it’s too much work to try to remember to use pseudonyms and such all of the time.  I haven’t even added a stats counter thingy this time, so have no idea of exactly who’s visiting, unless they comment.  Which is quite liberating.  It simply doesn’t  matter who reads my ramblings now, or what they think of them.  Alex is all grown up, so nobody from the past is a threat to her now, and I am no longer running and hiding from any “demons” of my own.

4)  A few people have asked me to clarify where I can be found on the Internet, and what I do in each place, as it has all become a bit confusing for them.  Which I understand, perfectly.  This WordPress blog is my main blog, as in the one in which I actually write original thoughts, and which will see the most action of any of my spots in Cyberspace.    My Tumblr blog is more like a digital scrapbook than a conventional blog.  It’s where I stash stuff that I come across during my travels around the ‘net, that I want to hang onto for future reference, or that I just want to share with the masses.  Little in the way of actual writing occurs over there, so it’s a nice thing to work on when the aphasia is particularly bad and it’s hard to put words together.  I’m still at LiveJournal, but I’m not going to link to that as I’m about to lock it down and only allow access to select people with LiveJournal accounts of their own.  I’m mainly over there for the communities in which I can discuss very specific things, so those of you who aren’t on LJ aren’t going to be missing anything of importance, truly!   Then there’s Twitter (I’m Shrewie on there, since moving to this here blog), but it’s not something that I use very much.  Add me if you like, but I mostly just follow other people right now.  My life does not warrant frequent updates throughout a day, believe me!  I’m linked to most of my known readers already on Facebook, but if we’re not friends over there and you’d like to be, just tell me who you are, and I’ll probably add you.  Unless, of course, you’re a known axe murderer.  If you’re a music fiend and like networking, I thoroughly recommend last.fm.  If you’re already on there and we’re not friends, please give me a shout.  Or if you join at some point, don’t forget to add me as a friend.  That’s about it, I think, but if I think of something else when I’m more awake, I’ll talk about it in another entry.

5)  I wish that I could go into real specifics in this next point, as the identity of the person in question deserves to be shouted from the rooftops.  However, as it involves bank accounts and such, I’ll keep it all a bit vague.  Not that anyone is going to get fabulously wealthy from access to our accounts, but I’d like to keep the little bit that we do have!!  Anyway, last week we had a think about things and, as with many other aspects of life, decided that the time had come to simplify our money-related things a bit.  At about 10:00 a.m., Richard  put in a call to “our guy” at our bank just to float the idea past him and see if it made any sense to him.  A couple of other calls went back and forth, and at shortly after noon there was a knock at our back door and there was our guy, with the papers in hand for us to sign.  Granted, he didn’t have to come far, but still, that was way, way, way beyond the call of duty.  I’m still kind of shocked,  as banks are notorious for poor service, but obviously there are exceptions, and that really made our day.  Actually, we’ve had nothing to complain about since switching to this bank branch many years ago, but still, I never expected that kind of service.  To make it even more impressive, we didn’t find out until later that “our guy” has actually been promoted to manager of the branch just recently, so he didn’t even have any obligation to deal with our initial phone call.   Somebody else is doing his old job now and it would have been fine if he had passed us off to them, but nope, we’re his long-standing clients, so he took the call and looked after us himself.  As I’m sure he does for other clients, too, so big kudos to him for being such a great ambassador for that particular bank.  That would be the institution as a whole, not just this particular branch.

There were a few other things on my list, but this is long enough for one entry, and I’m finally getting very sleepy.  No matter how hard I try to turn myself around, I seem to naturally want to be awake at night and sleeping through the day, so there’s no point in fighting it.  Maybe it’s time to go and inspect the eye teeth for signs of sudden growth!  Toodles.

4 thoughts on “A Mixed Bag

  1. Just a few comments … the first snow? Wonderful, magical, delightful. It brings out my inner 9 year old.
    I hope your girl has a turnaround soon and on point #3 … how liberating. Write what you know, when you want to and who cares about the rest. That’s why we started blogging in the first place, right?

    Cheers for your day!
    MJ

  2. So good to see you blogging again, my friend! Ummm…keep that snow over there if you can!! It’s turned colder over here after having had a very warm start to Autumn but not enough to snow yet. To be honest, though, I’m also enjoying the cooler temperatures:-)

    Please know my prayers are with Alex as she fights this flu virus. You’ve both gone through so much over the years, I can’t even imagine what it’s been like. My mom’s late friend Ross’ son Dana has CFS and we’ve talked about it quite a lot…he was quite impressed at how much I knew about it and I told him it was all thanks to you for educating me through your posts.

    I’ve so enjoyed catching up with you, dear friend. Think of you often. xoxo

  3. My Christmas wish for you, my friend
    Is not a simple one
    For I wish you hope and joy and peace
    Days filled with warmth and sun

    I wish you love and friendship too
    Throughout the coming year
    Lots of laughter and happiness
    To fill your world with cheer

    May you count your blessings, one by one
    And when totaled by the lot
    May you find all you’ve been given
    To be more than what you sought

    May your journeys be short, your burdens light
    May your spirit never grow old
    May all your clouds have silver linings
    And your rainbows pots of gold

    I wish this all and so much more
    May all your dreams come true
    May you have a Merry Christmas friend
    And a happy New Year, too .. xoxo

Share a thought

