A Note from Management

The best laid schemes o’ Mice an’ Men,
Gang aft agley,
An’ lea’e us nought but grief an’ pain,
For promis’d joy!

 –  Robert Burns, To a Mouse (Poem, November, 1785)

It’s unlikely that Scotland’s national poet of 1759-1796 knew anyone with a documented case of what is now  known as CFS or ME, but the words fit anyway.  A little unpredictability keeps life interesting, but total, constant unpredictability, well, that’s a whole other story. 

I thought that the new year was going to get off to a flying start as I was feeling better than I had for a long, long time.  Possibly the best since being knocked off my feet in December of 2004.  Hours after making the preceding post, however, the most serious relapse to date suddenly kicked in, and it has been a steady slide in the wrong direction ever since.   I’m now back to spending most of my time lying down, and continue to lose ground at a fairly steady pace.  Damn and blast, as they say.  I don’t do self-pity, but it certainly is disappointing and frustrating, to say the least.

Hopefully I’ll be back in the not too distant future, but there’s no way of knowing when or if things will turn around.   Good thing I’m kind of a hermit by nature anyway, as this is not the ailment for a social butterfly who needs constant interaction with people! 

Much love and happiness to all of you, and hopefully I’ll see you again soon.   xxoo

6 thoughts on “A Note from Management

  1. Oh no, I'm so sorry to hear this, I was really hoping that you would continue to do well. It just breaks my heart to see you like this…well I'm not actually “seeing” you but you know what I mean! lol I can well imagine how frustrating it is, though, to slide backwards instead of forward. Know that I think of you often!! Take special care of YOU my friend. xoxo

  2. I can feel positive thinking and we know how well that works. Keep that up and feel the warmth of all your blogging friend's good wishes, and a prayer from me.xoxox

  3. Timing is everything. YOU need to come visit me about your autoimmune conditions.http://paleoautoimmunerecipes.blogspot.com/Based on research by Dr. Cordain University of Colorado. I have Fibromyalgia and since Oct been following Dr. Cordain's recommendations and IBS is gone. Pain is RECEDING. He linked certain foods with causing autoimmune conditions. Bring your friends who have autoimmune conditions.

Share a thought

