Farewell, Aunt Hetty

Jackie Burroughs 1939-2010

There was sad news this week for fans of the wonderful Jackie Burroughs.  A true Canadian icon of stage and screen lost her battle with stomach cancer at the age of seventy-one.  I saw her in a number of productions over the years but, like most, I will most fondly remember her as Hetty King in Road to Avonlea.

Canadian television has produced many landmark productions over the years, but I can’t think of any that are remembered more fondly, by more people, than the Avonlea series, and its predecessor, Anne of Green Gables.  Besides being a stellar production in its own right, it was based on the much loved Anne of Green Gables series of books by Lucy Maud Montgomery.  You don’t get much more classically Canadian than that!  The books and television series are loved world-wide, though, and the tourism industry in Prince Edward Island has benefited enormously from their popularity.

I have yet to see Green Gables myself, but it has been on my bucket list since childhood.  If Alex had had her way, she’d have grown up on P.E.I.!  She totally fell in love with the island while first watching the Avonlea series as a child, and I suspect that it’s going to be a lifelong love affair. 

Rest in peace, Ms. Burroughs, and thank you for the enjoyment that you brought to our lives.

2 thoughts on “Farewell, Aunt Hetty

  1. We used to have Anne of Green Gables on TV – years ago. We loved it and one of my friends made a trip to Prince Edward Island in homage.May she rest in peace.

  2. I still watch the reruns of Road to Avonlea every day and I was so saddened to hear of Jackie Burroughs' death. She was so perfect as Aunt Hetty:-) xoxo

Share a thought

