Eight Things Meme


As promised yesterday, here is the “Eight Things” meme that Mapstew asked me to do a little while ago. I’m supposed to tag eight others to do it, but my readership has understandably dropped off since the move in the spring and with the infrequent posts since then.    So, I’ll not do any tagging, but if you’d like to give it a go, please do, and let me know that you have. 

1. Why did you start blogging?
Back at the beginning of 2002 my daughter started bugging me about getting into this blogging thing that seemed to really give her a buzz. I had never even heard of blogging at that point and didn’t think that it would be my thing at all, given that I lean more than a little towards the shy, private side of things. However, she insisted that I had something to say that others would want to hear and, despite my protests, she started a blog for me in late February of that year. After she went to all of the bother of coding a complete blog design from scratch I could hardly keep saying no, and the rest is history. It took me a little while to get into the blogging groove, but once I found my feet, there was no going back.  This wretched illness has cramped my style in recent years, but I can finally feel the juices starting to flow again. Now I just have to beat the shyness into submission again! It’s amazing how quickly it comes back when I don’t “put myself out there” on a regular basis. 😦
2. If you could travel anywhere in the world, with no restrictions on cost, where would it be, and why?
Assuming that there’s no time limit, either, it would be a very, very extensive “historical” tour of Ireland, Wales, England and Scotland, tracing my ancestral roots and soaking up the “vibes” of as many historical landmarks as can be soaked up by one mere mortal. Oh, yeah, I’d spend some time really getting to know Richard’s family, too, but mostly it would be roaming around, ogling flying buttresses and the like! Then, when I was finally sated on history, I’d do it all over again with places of literary interest. Hey, a girl can dream, right?! 
3. Did you have a teacher in school that had a great influence on your life? If so, what? 
I was fortunate to have mostly good to great teachers during my school years, so there were a number of them who made a real difference in my life. If I have to choose the most influential, though, it would be my high school English teacher. First off, he was a tremendous teacher and I was a very willing pupil when it came to things literary, so we were bound to hit it off. He was also staff advisor for the Publications Board, on which I served all through junior high and high school, culminating in my year as Yearbook Editor. So, I worked very closely with him outside of the classroom, and we had some fabulous chats as we were doing the layouts and such for the yearbook pages. I was always something of a square peg and it’s thanks to him that I realized that it was perfectly okay to march to the beat of my own drummer. Of course I didn’t fully grasp the concept until I was well out of high school, but he sowed the seeds in my mind, for sure. I learned many other lessons from him, too, but that was the big one. So, Brian Curtis, if you ever google your name and stumble upon this entry, thank you so very much for everything. You opened up a whole new world to me, as both a teacher and mentor, and my life would be so much poorer if our paths had never crossed.
4. If you could spend the day with a famous person, who would it be, and what would you do?
Of course you know that I’m going to go with an historical figure, rather than a celebrity, for this one, right?! Even though she’d probably scare the willies out of me, I’d love to spend a day just hanging out with Eleanor of Aquitaine, learning what really made her tick. She was one fierce and fearless dame, at a time when that was definitely not the norm, so she’s way up on my cool people list. Yeah, yeah, she could be a bit of a tyrant, too, but hey, nobody’s perfect. I also want to thank her for being the reason I forgave my parents for sticking me with such an “old-fashioned” first name. I wouldn’t change it now for the world, but as a child, surrounded by girls with trendy for the time names, Eleanor seemed like a real curse.
5. Toilet paper – over or under?
I honestly don’t care, as long as it’s there!
6. Name one thing in your life that you would do over if possible.
This is one of those questions that is so difficult to answer. Initially lots of things come to mind, like running as fast as I could in the other direction when introduced to my first husband! However, without him I wouldn’t have my daughter, I wouldn’t have been in the right place at the right time to meet Richard, and on it goes.  I would definitely demand more respect and kinder treatment from him and several others, though, and would be much kinder to myself.  If I had put more importance on myself, I might not be in the boat I’m in now with the CFS and all.  
7. Tell us about your pets, if any.
Allergies and pets don’t get along, sadly.
8. Do you live in a small town or a large town?
Beeg city, at least by my standards. I grew up way out in the sticks, on a farm, 10 miles from the nearest town (population 1,000). So, a city of 670,000 is the Big Smoke, and then some, to this country mouse!
13 thoughts on “Eight Things Meme

  1. So glad to see you back blogging even though I will miss my farming buddie. Understand completely though why you pulled the plug and hope it will give you some peace of mind even though that don't sound likely at the moment. Read you later! Hugs!

  2. You're welcome for the nudge, Savannah. 😉 I'm terrible for overthinking things, too, and it really can be quite crippling. Lots of people moan about doing memes, but I really like them. Some can be a bit silly, but most reveal a few interesting tidbits that we'd never otherwise learn about a person. It's those tidbits that can often give us a better sense of what really makes someone tick.

  3. I do feel rather badly about abandoning you and a few other farmers, Maria, but it just had to be. I hope that you have enough other farming partners to keep you going. If not, you can always find more on the home page for the application. Thanks for sending the e-mail. It was one of several I received, so I decided to save energy and just answer them in the previous blog entry. And yes, it feels great to be back at blogging in earnest!!

  4. Madame, I know, it's not normal to not have a preference, but I choose my obsessions carefully these days. Pre-CFS I did have a definite preference, but now, meh, whatever. We won't discuss toothpaste tubes, however. We finally settled that one by each having our own tube, and the other two keep their mangled tubes out of sight. 😉

Share a thought

