Dydd Gwyl Dewi Dedwydd

Happy St. David’s Day to my lovely friend, Carol, and anyone else in Wales, or with Welsh roots.

This includes yours truly, and the sisters who lurk around here. The siblings and I are Celtic mongrels, with a mix of Irish, Scottish and Welsh blood in our veins. Thus, be it a bodhran, the bagpipes, or a bunch of Welsh men singing, as only a bunch of Welsh men can sing, the effect is the same. Something stored deep within my DNA is stirred and I feel the call of my ancestral roots.

My very favourite hymn is a Welsh standard, but for today, we’ll go with the obvious choice of tune.

6 thoughts on “Dydd Gwyl Dewi Dedwydd

  1. Happy St. David's Day Eleanor!Such an emotional piece. I'm Irish, and I have to say this always gets my heart beating faster and brings a little bit of moisture to mine eyes! :¬)xxx

  2. I'll never forget my first trip to Wales. I stopped in Cardiff for a few days, and I was amazed–signs everywhere, even the news, in Welsh! Congrats to your people for keeping true to their roots.

Share a thought

