Of Cobwebs and Hearts

Happy Valentine’s Day, my lovelies!

I’ll hopefully be back soon to brush off all of the cobwebs around here and get some real blogging going again.  Medical reports are always boring for both the writer and the reader, so suffice it to say that it has been kind of rough for the past several weeks.  Sometimes there’s a reason for major relapses and sometimes not, but it doesn’t matter either way.  You can tweak your symptom relief regimen a wee bit, adding a bit more of this, taking away a bit of that, but it really just comes down to hoping for the best and waiting it out.

No matter how far the slide backwards, I start moving forward again eventually.  I have a lot of ground to make up this time, but as always, it could be so much worse.  I appreciate the comments on the previous post more than you can know, but it’s not false modesty when I say that I’m no hero.  I do stay mostly positive because it’s the only way that I can deal with this.  It is hard sometimes, very hard, but not as hard as what so many others face on a daily basis. 

When things get tough I always think of a conversation that I had with my dad, shortly after his dominant hand was mangled in a farming accident.  I was twelve years old at the time, and it was the first time I visited him at the hospital after the accident.  It killed me to see Dad in such obvious pain, and so helpless while his hand was bound up like an oversized boxing glove.  I  tried to be brave for him, as that’s what the eldest child is supposed to do, but that day I couldn’t hold back the tears.  He looked me square in the eye and said, “Yes, this isn’t very nice, but it’s okay.  It could have been my whole hand, my entire arm, or even my life.  What are some missing fingers compared to that?”

That, my friends, was one of those moments that stays with you for life, and has been one of the things that gets me through any challenge that presents itself, no matter how great.   It doesn’t matter what’s happening to me at any given time; it’s never more than I can handle, and it’s never as bad as what someone else is experiencing at that very moment. 

So yes, I will be back as soon as writing feels a bit less like really hard work.  Meanwhile, I hope that all is well with each of you.  I have so much catching up to do with e-mails, messages on Facebook, etc. but know that I’m not just ignoring you due to lack of interest.  I know that some are offended because you see me playing games but not answering messages,  but you’ll just have to accept that there is a huge difference between the two.

Again, Happy Valentine’s Day, and lots of love to each of you, today and always. xxxooo

6 thoughts on “Of Cobwebs and Hearts

  1. Taking care of yourself is always number one. Writing a post once in awhile to let us know how you are doing is a pleasure for us but we hope you are not in pain. This is a lovely new look on your blog.

Share a thought

