Thank You

Thank you so much for the various kinds of birthday wishes yesterday.  Each was greatly appreciated and warmed the heart in a big way. 🙂 

The CFS has been kicking with steel-toed boots since the beginning of the year, hence my silence, but it takes a lot more than that to ruin a birthday in this household.   The planned birthday outing has been postponed until a later date as it was impossible yesterday, but it was still a wonderful day from start to finish.  Lots of lovely cards, all of the greetings on the computer, a fantastic meal delivered from a local Greek restaurant,  a luscious carrot cake for my birthday cake, a generous gift card for my favourite shop, a CD I’ve been wanting for ages, some games to help while away the hours when I’m too limp to do anything else,  phone calls, etc., etc., all added up to something pretty grand. 🙂 

I even got a gift from Mother Nature in a surprisingly mild day, which is an extreme rarity during my birthday week.  Historically, it’s almost always the coldest, most vile week of the winter, but this year it has been utterly gorgeous.  By Winnipeg standards, of course. 😉  It’s a nice treat for Richard, too, as he works the final shifts of his fifty year nursing career.  He sheds the ball and chain forever on Sunday at 11:15 p.m.  It’s feeling very surreal from my perspective, so I can’t imagine what it must be like for him.

Hopefully I’ll be more visible very soon.  I was determined to be a lot more vocal this year, but some things just aren’t in my control, no matter how much I will them to be.  This disease keeps changing as the years go on, and right now it’s my ability to communicate that suffers most when I’m in a bad spell.  Very frustrating, to say the least, but as always, I have so little to complain about in comparison to so many. 

Take care, and thanks again for the birthday greetings!

5 thoughts on “Thank You

  1. Eleanor, I am only just getting to know the wonderfully sweet, kind and giving person that is you!Many would turn sour and bitter and such under such circumstances as you see yourself, and understandably so! But you somehow find the strength and the courage and the fight to rise above that, and you, and people like you, make me carry on when days are grey, or just when I'm feeling low!Thank you for taking the time to write to me recently, but most of all, thank you for taking an interest in me and becoming one of my new friends! :¬)xxx

  2. I'm so happy you've had a warm day for your birthday. Mine is mid-February, so I know what you mean about vile weather…You're a doll, Eleanor, and never need to explain the quiet spells. We know things sometimes flare up and keep you away from our little universe here, but your presence always brightens it up when you return.

  3. I am very glad you had such a warm and loving birthday. Things will be changing in your house pretty soon won't they with your husband adjusting to no longer working at a job outside home. I haven't known you long but I certainly am part of many who wish the best for you.

  4. Happy Birthday dear Eleanor:-) I'm so glad to hear that you ended up having such a lovely day, even though the CFS caused your planned outing to be postponed. You always make the best of it and that's what I so admire about you. It turned milder here as well and by next week we're even supposed to see above zero Celsius temps!! Will wonders never cease! lol We don't even have half the snow we usually have for this time of year. Not that I'm complaining mind you!!Gosh, Richard will be retiring on Sunday…bless his heart, having given 50 years of his life to nursing and taking care of others, he deserves to finally be free of all that and just enjoy life:-)Take care my friend and please know that I think of you often. xoxo

Share a thought

