New Year’s Eve 2009

It has been a bed day today and while I’ve been launched here, I’ve been thinking about what I wanted to include in my last post of the year and decade.  After much mulling, I’ve come to the conclusion that intense navel-gazing is really a solo act, with the outcome only fully appreciated by the one doing the gazing.  So, I’ll spare you a trip down memory lane and simply say that the positive continues to outweigh the negative, and long may that continue! 

I don’t make New Year’s resolutions per se, as they seem kind of pointless.  Life has always been predictable only in its unpredictability, and the best laid plans seldom come to fruition for us.  Which is fine, as what does happen tends to be a better fit than what we thought should happen.  Sometimes it takes a while to see that it’s a better alternative, but in the end all is revealed. 

At the end of each year I’m a little bit older and, hopefully, a lot wiser, and that wisdom is what I like to carry forward into the coming year.  As always, many life lessons have been learned this past year.  The most important one, perhaps, is the realization that I’ve lost my tolerance for negativity, cynicism, petty jealousies, irrational judgements, snarking just for the sake of it, etc.  Limited energy forces one to prioritize where one spends it, and I have none to waste on anything that doesn’t positively affect my life in some way.  Contact with negativity drains my physical energy like nothing else, so I absolutely must avoid it, whenever possible.

A quiet New Year’s Eve is coming up here, as per usual.  Richard is at work this evening, but he’ll be home just in time to toast the arrival of 2010 with us.  Alex has been busy all afternoon, preparing nibbles of various kinds to accompany our Merlin marathon this evening.  We agree that a healthy dose of fantasy and lore is a fine note on which to end a year.

Happy New Year to all of you,  and may 2010 bring you all good things in great abundance!   Thank you for being here with me through another year. xxxooo

8 thoughts on “New Year’s Eve 2009

  1. Relax, enjoy your family this evening, get rest, and know I have enjoyed reading your posts since I found your blog. Happy New Year, we don't know what the next year will bring us, but we are ready for it!

  2. Happy new year hon! Will you join me in ridding ourselves of negative people this coming year? I am SO learning to distance myself from them, and my life is only getting better! Lots of love.xxx

  3. Your blog keeps getting better and better! Your older articles are not as good as newer ones you have a lot more creativity and originality now keep it up!

Share a thought

