NaBloWriMo


I’ve thought about doing this for years now, but have always chickened out at the last minute. Well, maybe chickened out isn’t the right term as there’s really nothing scary about it. Rather, let’s call it a case of not wanting to take on any new obligations. This year, however, it feels like the right thing to do. I need to find my writing groove again, and making a commitment to post every day seems like a brilliant way to go about it.

I’m not promising insightful essays every day, but I will put something up here. Not just YouTube videos, either, although I’m not one of those who gets all huffy about them appearing on blogs. Blog “rules” in general irritate me, since I see blogging as an extension of who we are as individuals. I’m beyond tired of being told how to live in the “real” world, so I’m certainly not going to conform to someone else’s rules here in the blog world. Nor do I expect anyone to do things my way. There’s room for everyone out here, and as long as we aren’t deliberately hurting anyone, live and let live.

So, let’s see what I can come up with over the next thirty days. I don’t pretend to be a great writer, but I enjoy it to the point that it’s quite necessary to my well-being. Not being able to do it as much over the past few years has made a noticeable difference in my psyche. I’m naturally quiet and introverted anyway, but not being able to get my thoughts out in writing has caused a genuine fear that goes beyond shyness. The less I say, the less I feel qualified to say. The words are always there in my head, but letting them out is becoming more and more difficult. So, inhibitions and self-censorship be damned. I’m just going to let the words and ideas flow as they will, and not worry so much about precision. No doubt my blog will be much, much better for it. As will I.

Should any of you feel like joining me on this little journey, it’s not too late to sign up. Just click on the button in my sidebar to be taken right to the site. Of course you can do it without formally signing up, too.

Onward and upward, as they say!

P.S. Best of luck to my blogging friends who have committed themselves to NaNoWriMo.

7 thoughts on “NaBloWriMo

  1. Thanks, TB, but I can't take any credit for the header. Apart from the idea, that is. My daughter is the one with the design skills, so I give her a vague idea of what I want and she goes to town on it. I can tweak the HTML in a layout and play with artistic stuff to a certain degree, but she does all of the really fancy stuff for me. Glad you like it, though! I actually had it up before the Halloween one, but I guess you didn't see it. It was on a much darker background, which was nice, too, but it's time to lighten things up for a while.

  2. Eleanor, so refereshing to be in the company of someone else who doesn't bend to those who wish nothing more than to merely 'fit in'.

  3. It's great to see you here regularly, little sister. Warms the heart, truly. :)Jimmy, that's it in a nutshell. I gave up on the fitting in game some time ago and am much better off for it. I see so much of it in the blog world and it makes me sad. A sense of belonging is great and we all need that. But when it strays into clique territory, that's when I exit the building in a hurry. Cliques aren't beneficial to anyone, be it the ringleaders or the followers.

Share a thought

