Happy Thanksgiving


Yes indeed, ’tis feast day here in Canada. It’s kind of the same idea as the American version in November, but the origin of ours has nothing to do with pilgrims and everything to do with church harvest festivals.

After a couple of years off from cooking duties, during which Daughter prepared delicious vegan feasts, I’m back in the kitchen for this one, preparing the traditional turkey feast. Yet another sign of progress. Whee! Actually, more correctly, I should say that I have prepared most of the feast during the overnight hours, and the other two can finish things off while I catch a few hours of slumber. My days and nights often get turned around, as they are at present, but we won’t let that stop traditions from being followed.

The menu is the standard Thanksgiving fare – turkey, stuffing, cranberry sauce, mashed potatoes, gravy, baked yams, brussels sprouts, blah, blah, blah, with pumpkin pie for dessert. There’s way more food than three people can get through, so if you can make it here within six hours or so, we’ll gladly set a place for you. 🙂

Oh, and just in case you don’t believe that I keep weird hours, here’s a photo that proves it. The turkey was just coming out of the oven here, at 4:55 a.m., as you can see. Oops, you can also see where I aimed badly with the turkey baster a couple of times. *blushes* That’s wiped off now, scout’s honour.


Right, off to bed I go. I’ll be back later to catch up on the comments left on the previous post. Happy Thanksgiving to the couple of family members who drop by here, and to all of my Canadian chums. Hope you’ve all been having a great holiday weekend!

9 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving

  1. Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours, dear Eleanor:-) That turkey looks so delicious…have just put mine in the oven so it will be ready in time for dinner. I was awake during the wee hours so I should have done like you and cooked my turkey then! lol I did cook a lot of my meal yesterday so all I have to do is put it all in the oven to heat up. Sending big turkey hugs your way! hehe xoxo

  2. Happy Thanksgiving to you! The turkey looks delicious, although cooking it in the wee hours of the morning is rather unusual (to me, at least!). Turkey is usually on the menu for Christmas in my country – probably because we have no 'thanksgiving'. Glad to see your finding yourself with a wee bit more vim and vigour! 🙂 Seems as though you're making the most of it, too!Ciao for now!Leigh

  3. How'd the turkey turn out? It looked delicious!!So glad you are feeling better and on here more regularly. Enjoy reading your blog – keep it up!Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours:)Love, C.

  4. I hope your Thanksgiving was great and that you are enjoying leftovers this week. Our Thanksgiving is next month and since it is just two of us we will keep it pretty simple. I am thinking of doing fried chicken and mashed potatoes and green bean casserole. And maybe a pie. Anyway, it is fun to read blogs and learn about traditions and holidays in other areas.

  5. Thanks, everyone. Thanksgiving was really nice, and the meal turned out well, even though it was cooked in dribs and drabs. Some stuff actually tastes better when it sits in the fridge for a few hours before being reheated, so I'll not hesitate to use this method again, should my sleeping habits continue to be all over the place. Holidays here are always pretty quiet because we spend them mostly on our own, but we're absolutely fine with that. TechnoBabe, I'm totally with you on it being fun to learn about traditions and lifestyle elsewhere through blogging. That's one of my main reasons for blogging, and why I have so many overseas blogging friends. Locals are nice, too, of course, but I love “travelling” via blogging.

Share a thought

