The State of the Union

You know that you’re married to an Englishman when he’s watching his second English Premier League football/soccer match of the day on TV (muted), while listening to live cricket on the computer. Do you think that he’s able to multi-task when it comes to really practical, useful things, though? Um, no. It’s one of those man things, right?

The Ashes cricket is really gripping stuff, by the way, even for someone like me who rarely has a chance to see the game and is still learning how it all works. The pace of test match cricket rather suits me at this point in life. Even on a crap day the brain works fast enough to follow along. 😉

Speaking of which, I’m happy to report that I feel rather less like roadkill today. It has been a rough summer, likely because of all of the rain and generally unsettled weather. It has been cooler than normal, but humidity is humidity, no matter what the temperature. Today is finally dry, sunny, and breezy, which is ideal weather for those of us in this particular boat. In addition to weather influences, I didn’t do myself any favours by stopping the prescription med that keeps some of the symptoms controlled to a tolerable degree. It causes weight gain and is more sedating than I like, but c’est la vie, I guess. It was getting to the point where I couldn’t stand my own company, so I’m sure that I’ve been a real treat to live with in recent weeks. Insight is both a blessing and a curse.

The state of being this summer has served a good purpose too, though. The writing was already on the wall by spring, but now there is absolutely no doubt in any of our minds that it’s time for a major lifestyle change. The exact time frame is kind of flexible, but the hope is that we’ll be out of here within the next year. The upkeep of an old house and a yard is well beyond me at this point, and Richard isn’t enjoying it anymore, either. He’s retiring within the next six months, and there are lots of other things that he’d rather do in his retirement. So, we’re going to really shake things up by fully embracing the urban lifestyle in a high rise apartment building, somewhere in the downtown area. Now that’s about as far from my farm upbringing, ten miles from anywhere, as you can get! We’re all looking forward to it, though, and it’s going to be a positive change for each of us in different ways. How we’re actually going to pull off getting the house fixed up to sell, not to mention the move itself, is beyond me, but we’ll make it happen somehow. We have to.

So, this is probably my last season of honest to goodness, digging in the ground, kind of gardening, and I’m trying to make the most of it. I probably shouldn’t be bothering this year even, but I feel the need to go out with some kind of style. We’ll have a huge balcony so there will be container gardening going on in years to come. But this is definitely my last summer for freezing and canning garden vegetables, and for growing more than a taste of our favourite things. Obviously I’ll miss it in a way, but knowing for sure that I can’t do it anymore makes it easier to give up.

On a related note, I’ll leave you with a shot from the flower bed that was featured earlier in the summer. This is three weeks old now, but as you can see, it does indeed look much more interesting with all of the taller stuff in bloom.

5 thoughts on “The State of the Union

  1. Sometimes change is good. Hope it's just what the doctor ordered.It's been wetter, cooler and more humid here as well, over all. Not that we haven't had plenty of heat too, especially in June, which was dryer than average too. We've had a crazy mixed up Summer, weather wise.Have a good weekend, Eleanor. :-)Love and hugs,Diane

  2. Impressed by the multi tasking. Good luck with the big change, sounds the right thing to do. My parents lived in an apartment when they lived in Portland, OR, and had a great time. It can work out very well if you want it to. Glad you're feeling better.

  3. So glad to hear you're improving, Eleanor.When you make the Big Move, and if you still have the urge to garden in real ground and not a container, there are various areas of the city that have community gardens. I don't know how they work, but I do know lots of people take advantage of them for giving their green thumbs a place to be active.Good luck with all that!

  4. HAHAHAHAHA!That is James in a nutshell when there is footie on the telly and cricket online! Or rather football via tv text…. How sad isnt that.. But we love them none the less dont we :o)

Share a thought

