Growing Things

Certainly not my only flower bed, but probably my favourite when everything is at its peak. It will look much more interesting when all of that tall stuff at the back starts to bloom – phlox, assorted lilies, delphiniums, and more. All of the flowers are blooming later this year, thanks to the cold spring.


My great-uncle developed both of the roses above. If you’re looking for a fuss-free rose that will do well in this harsh climate, look for something from the Parkland series of roses, developed at the Morden research station. There are many varieties now, but they all come from a common ancestor, which was a cross between a wild prairie rose from my maternal grandparents’ pasture, and a tea rose, whose identity I now forget. Uncle Henry died several years ago, but he certainly left a beautiful legacy.



Just a couple of shots of some of the vegetables growing on our little chunk of the earth. Don’t be fooled by the proprietary attitude of the dude who managed to insinuate himself into these photos. He looks after the tomatoes, which are tied to those long stakes behind him, but I do the rest. What is it with people always trying to steal my thunder? Pah! Furthermore, I am not responsible for his sense of gardening fashion. Or lack of same.

Thank you for all of the well wishes. I’m getting there, slowly but surely. I think that the virus itself is gone now, but such things ramp up the CFS/ME, so …

The Louisiana vampires are about to appear on the TV screen, so I must dash. Hope you’ve all had a nice weekend.

13 thoughts on “Growing Things

  1. Welcome, Charlita. It never used to feel like work, but that has changed greatly over the past few years. It's almost beyond me at this point, so …Apologies for taking so long to acknowledge your visit. I'll get over to see you ASAP, too!

  2. Thanks, Jimmy. I do try. :)You're right, Madame, he left us with some really beautiful tangible memories. His roses are ever so popular in this part of the world, but of course those of us who knew him cherish them for our own reasons, besides their beauty.

  3. Point taken, YS. 🙂 I'm quite partial to white roses myself, but alas, I haven't found a pure white which is hardy enough for this zone. I'm too tight to buy a new one every year. You know how it is.

  4. Map, the green thumb is a dominant gene in all of the branches of my ancestry. Even those with unusually good educations for their time chose to work the land, or at least have enormous gardens. Growing things is not simply something that we do; it's part of who we are.

  5. Welcome to you, too, C. A.! Always nice to see new people around here. 😀 I've had the occasional thief in the garden over the course of our time here, but they have been surprisingly few. I have a pretty good natural radar for garden invaders, and most around here know it. I'll happily share our bounty and beauty with anyone who shows an interest, but I do get extremely angry when someone just helps themselves.

  6. Lovely garden. Thanks to my husband's efforts, we too, have a garden under two ancient sycamores that we inherited when we bought our fixer-upper. I think the greenery gives life to the home.

  7. Thanks, DQW, and thanks also for dropping by. Sorry it took me a while to acknowledge your comment – life took over for a bit and the blog slid down the list of priorities.Yes indeed, greenery does give life to a home. This property was totally devoid of anything except the two lovely maple trees and a patchy lawn when we moved in. How forlorn it all looked, but not for long!

Share a thought

