I Wanna Do Bad Things

Season 2 of True Blood starts this evening. Six months has been way too long between visits to Bon Temps, Louisiana. You can keep your dazzling teenage Twilight vampires. I’ll take a smouldering Civil War veteran any day. Yowza! The head honcho of the local vampire collective is delicious, too, in a very tall sort of way.

In other news, it has been a glorious weekend in this part of the world. Last weekend I was rushing around, employing all of the old sheets and towels to protect the delicate young flower and vegetable plants from a heavy frost. This weekend we’ve been basking in warmth and sunshine. It’s 25 C., with a totally cloudless sky as I type. The warmth was a long time in coming this spring, but it’s definitely here now.

Much time has been spent outside this weekend, and our property is looking pretty spiffy for it, if I do say so myself. Richard did the lion’s share of the grunt work, obviously, but he’s not allowed near the flower beds. Too many delicate pretties have fallen prey to his big feet and non-discerning weeding fingers. Horrors! To be completely honest, though, it’s partly a control thing on my part, too. I’ve lost the strength and stamina to do so many things, but I will not give up gardening, no matter what. It’s not simply something that I do, it’s a part of who I am. As it was for generations before me, and will probably be for generations after.

So far so good for mosquitoes, but I imagine that that will change quickly, now that the heat is here. A few were pestering us as we went about our business this weekend, but nothing like the dance of a thousand slaps that is usually part of each session outside at this time of year.

Delicious pizza and salad from a nearby establishment were our end of weekend treat. Who in their right mind chooses to spend time inside cooking during the first gorgeous weekend of the year?

Right, five minutes to sexy vampire time, and counting. Later, y’all!

3 thoughts on “I Wanna Do Bad Things

  1. Just wanted to say that I truly madly deeply share your fondness for our sharp-toothed friends…But can you believe, somehow I missed the season opening of True Blood? I hate myself like mad, must go find a repeat!!!!

Share a thought

