Wake Up

Well, that was a little rude. Just when it seemed like I was making a bit of real progress with the ME/CFS, along came the worst spell since it first knocked me off my feet four and a half years ago. Discouraging and annoying, definitely, but not at all unusual for the course of this disease. Some people make steady progress after the initial knock down, but for most, there is much back and forth for many, many years, if not for the rest of their lives. I’m picking up a little bit now, so onward and hopefully upward, at least for a while. These major setbacks seem a tad cruel, but I still refuse to give up hope of beating this one day.

I’ll be back ASAP with a bit of an update, but for now I have to conserve my energy for making supper shortly. The Lord of the Manor has been working hard in the yard all day, so it would be unfair to expect him to cook. The young one has gone out to pick up some new summery clothes for me, now that the cold spring has finally given way to some real warmth. Thus, she’s off the hook for cooking, too. I can muster up the energy for cooking, but not for going out shopping. Which isn’t a hardship, really, as shopping has never been my favourite thing to do. Daughter loves it and knows what suits me, so I happily let her go to it on my behalf.

So, still on the wake up theme, here’s a little something for your entertainment until I get back. Any excuse to promote Canadian talent, you know.

4 thoughts on “Wake Up

  1. Thank you for the well wishes, Madame. Dealing with this disease is an exercise in frustration sometimes, but I only have to remind myself about far worse ailments to put it all into perspective. Still …Arcade Fire are fab, aren't they? 🙂

  2. I'm thinking about you doll. The worst thing about any illness is that you just don't see them coming. Keep the faith.

  3. Thanks, Jimmy, and the thoughts are mutual. You keep taking those walks with your dogs and I'll keep doing what I need to do to get back on my feet. You're right, sneak attacks are a bugger, and yes, one must keep the faith. Always.

Share a thought

