Jazz and Blues

STREET JAZZ;

a night like this in a restless city
streetlamps paving the way
through faded buildings
snow setting the tones of black on grey
perfect for anxious hearts
and melancholic dreaming

cars slide by, slowly engulfed
by the cool smooth wave
entranced by the lonely wails of a sidewalk saxophone
trailing music into the mist
beside it, a case of dollar bills
anonymous thank-yous

a car glides to a stop
a cabaret heel steps out
followed by a fur that reeks of cool sounds
and last night’s stale cologne
a sultry voice blends into the tones
weaving them into a soft heartache

two souls melding every saturday night
she, always fashionably late
they join together in the deserted downtown avenues
painting them electric blue
with the only beauty they know
soul-stripping street jazz.

My daughter wrote the poem above several years ago, when she was fifteen or sixteen years old. She has written many poems and bits of prose over the years, but this one has always been a standout piece for me. I posted it before, a few years ago, but thought that it deserved to see the light of day again, especially as we’re now in the last couple of hours of National Poetry Month.

As you’ll have noticed, the decor has changed around here again, and not because I got bored today. Actually, I’m never truly bored, but I do change the scenery here quite often as it’s the one kind of scenery that I can change at will. I’m pretty much homebound most of the time because of the debilitating fatigue and pain that come with CFS/ME and Fibromyalgia, so changing things on here is my way of giving myself something new and different to look at. This time, though, there’s a different kind of reason for everything suddenly turning blue. As you can see on the ribbon in the header, and the clickable link in the sidebar, May 12th is International Awareness Day for ME/CFS. So, bloggers around the world who suffer from the disease ourselves, or who care for someone with it, are joining forces to raise awareness in our own way. We’re turning our blogs blue for the month of May, and displaying our blue ribbons with pride. This is a very real disease, not something that’s all in our heads, and there’s no need for any of us to hide the fact that we have it. I also added an iris to my header as the iris is the floral symbol of hope. We hope for more understanding, and also hope that the medical community will wake up and realize that some serious research needs to be done to help clear up some of the mysteries attached to this illness. If you click on the ribbon badge in the sidebar it will take you to a site with some facts about the illness. Also, if you feel so inclined, you can pick up a ribbon there to display on your own blog. There’s absolutely no pressure to do so, of course, but if you feel like joining the cause, hurray!

Now I must make tracks and try to get a decent night’s sleep, as I have to go out tomorrow. We finally got the verdict on our car on Tuesday and it was indeed written off. So, we’re off out tomorrow to find a replacement, get it insured, finish off the paperwork attached to saying ta ta to the damaged car, etc. We think that we’ve found the car that we want, so fingers crossed that it lives up to the glowing sales pitch when we actually see it. Our car has been registered in my name for several years now, at Richard’s insistence, so I have to be involved in everything tomorrow, as the registered owner. Which wouldn’t be a big deal under ordinary circumstances, but as stated above, I rarely go out because of the exhaustion factor. So when I do, it takes planning days in advance to make sure that I conserve enough energy for the outing. Then it has to run to a strict schedule on the day itself. I only have so much time before I fade completely, even on a good day, so everything that needs to be done has to be done as quickly and efficiently as possible. It’s not as bad as it sounds because I’m so used to it now, but it is an inconvenience, for sure. Still, it could be a lot worse, so I count my lucky stars daily.

Thanks for the recent visits, comments and such. I’ll get caught up on everything, and do some reciprocating again, as soon as we get this car business sorted. My online time for the past few days has been spent looking and looking, and looking and looking at cars. Do you know how many new and used car dealers there are in this city? And how many of them do not update their websites regularly?! I lost track of the number of calls we made about cars that were already sold. Mutter mutter.

‘Night, all.

2 thoughts on “Jazz and Blues

  1. Lovely, soulful, thought-provoking, mind-picture-painting poem. Well done, Alex!I'm waiting on blood work results, testing for lupus, rheumatoid arthritis and various and sundry other things – again. Hope you get through the day with the minimum of stress and get the car you want, then home to rest.Happy weekend, friend. ;-)Much love,Diane

Share a thought

