It’s All About Meee!!

I’ve been tagged to do this a few times, so here it is at long last. Long meme is long!

25 Random Facts:

1. I’m the eldest of five – three younger sisters, then a brother bringing up the rear.

2. I grew up on a beef farm in western Manitoba. I’ve been a city girl since leaving home at 17, but my heart will always be in the country.

3. I used to be a nurse.

4. I love being with my nearest and dearest, but I also need time totally on my own. I’ve always been that way, even as a child.

5. I’m not a fan of shopping in general, but especially loathe shopping for clothes and shoes.

6. I love coffee, but really dislike flavoured coffees. The same applies to tea, with the exception of chai tea every now and then. I also hate sugar in coffee or tea. I’m sweet enough as is, darlings. šŸ™‚

7. My other major flavour dislike is a blend of any fruit and chocolate. Shudder. Love fruit, and like chocolate, but not together. Ever.

8. I’m left-handed. Very.

9. I’ve never been terribly materialistic, but even less so in the past few years. Material possessions mean very little in the grand scheme of things. I have my little collections of this and that, my precious books and CDs, and a few odds and ends that have serious sentimental value. But I don’t own a single thing that would be worth risking life and limb for in the event of a fire. No object is worth that, ever.

10. Gardening is real therapy for me and I miss it terribly as winter drags on. But having said that, it always feels good to put the garden to sleep in the autumn. Our growing season is short and intense in this part of the world.

11. I’m pretty easy-going as a rule, but I don’t suffer really foolish fools gladly. It also makes me crazy when people dumb themselves down to suit their partner or friends.

12. I have always had an insatiable thirst for new knowledge and soak up trivia like a thirsty sponge. I don’t like clutter in my physical environment, but brain clutter is perfectly fine. šŸ™‚

13. I have never done much in the way of travel, in the literal sense, but I have taken countless fantastic journeys through books. Books have been favourite companions throughout my entire life and thus it shall always remain. I don’t understand people who say that they don’t like to read. Obviously we aren’t all going to enjoy the same genres, but with all of the reading material available, there has to be something for everyone’s tastes.

14. I can touch the tip of my nose with my tongue. Not the most useful of skills, I suppose, but perhaps I’ll be glad of it one day. šŸ˜‰

15. I love trees and will be very upset with you if you cut one down for no good reason. Especially if it’s an old, but still healthy, one.

16. I think that I would choose to be an archaeologist, if I could do it all over again.

17. I always order vegetarian pizza, even though I’m not a vegetarian. My very favourite topping combo is sundried tomatoes, roasted red peppers, caramelized red onions, black olives, artichoke hearts, and feta cheese. Mmmm.

18. I’ve always had a preference for older men. My first husband was the only exception to that rule. And then I came to my senses again and found myself a proper grown up.

19. I’m named after my two grandmothers. I’m told that there was a war regarding which of the two names would come first, which would explain why it took them a month to register my birth. I wonder what everyone called me during that month.

20. I tend to be fairly quiet and reserved initially, which people often very mistakenly interpret as being aloof and stuck up.

21. I have a great sense of humour, but it can be a bit quirky. šŸ™‚ My favourite people are those who make me laugh out loud, and often.

22. My favourite season is autumn. The temperature is just right, all of my favourite colours are in Nature’s autumn palette, and it’s when I feel the most alive.

23. I can’t and won’t watch a horror movie. I also can’t bear to watch footage from WWII concentration camps.

24. I’m a fan of the Oxford comma, and am grateful that nearly all of my teachers were of the “old school.” I balk something fierce at modern modifications to vocabulary and grammar. I’m just in love with the English language, and hate to see it corrupted.

25. I’m a total night owl. Always have been, really, but especially since the CFS/ME and Fibro set in. I used to fight it, but have come to realize that I feel much better and am more productive when I sleep during the day and prowl around at night. There has been no barking at the moon thus far, but that could change. šŸ˜‰

4 thoughts on “It’s All About Meee!!

  1. You probably wouldn't believe how many things we have in common, Eleanor. Scary, ain't it? :-)Let's see….#1 – I'm the 4th of 5 girls.#2 – I grew up keeping pigs, chickens, a calf and assorted other critters out in the country. Now live in a town of 1800 and would move back to the country in a heartbeat. Still long for it after 24 years in the city.#3 – No formal training but plenty of practical nursing experience. If I had it all to do over again, I'd probably be a nurse or geologist, studying earthquakes.#4 & #5 – Absolutely. I'm exactly the same way.#6 – Don't like colored or sweetened coffees with the exception of Starbux white chocolate mocha. But I do sweeten my tea. #7 – I'm not a big fan of chocolate to begin with (with the exception of white chocolate, which I love!) and I can't stand chocolate dipped strawberries or those foil wrapped chocolate fruit combos that come apart in wedges. Ewww!#9 – Yes.#10 – Yes, before arthritis. Still get gardening fever, just can't do anything about it but suffer and fool with a few container plantings.#11 & #12 – Yes. Although the clutter bothers me, my health problems have made me tolerate it more these days. However, I'm on a major cleaning and decluttering binge right now. No telling when the next one will happen though.#13 – Yep.#14 – Nope, can't do that!#15 – Yep, although I do love a wood fire.#19 – Named after one of my stepgrandmothers – Lena Diane.#21 – Oh yeah! :-)#22 – Yes, but I don't like oranges and reds, golds, etc. except on the Autumn leaves. Not my favorite color scheme.#23 – Yes, but not because I can't stand them. Just don't like horror movies. They don't scare me, honestly. Just not my cup of tea. But yes on the concentration camp footage. Lord help us.#24 – I have to be honest here, I'm not exactly sure what the Oxford comma is, but I do try to use correct grammar. And I know that I left a participle dangling in that last sentence. ;-)#25 – Definitely a night owl here. I think I must have some vampire blood or something. ;-)Fun, fun facts about you!Love you,Diane

  2. Just thought I'd stop in and say hello! I really enjoyed reading this. The Oxford comma!!! YES!!! How happy I was to read that. My husband and I both feel ridiculously strongly about its use, and whenever I see a list that fails to employ it, I get a little frisson of irritation!

Share a thought

