The Flirty Winner Is …

Hello, handsome man in short skirt. Don’t you think Fatima is beautiful? I am Fatima, you clod!! Oh, haha, I toss my head back and laugh boisterously at your silly man joke. And now I have a kink in my neck. Put down that stupid thingamajig and massage right here.

Me: “I have to pick a winner for a contest on my blog and I don’t feel like hunting down one of those random integer things. I need a number between one and five, please.”
Daughter: “I don’t know, six?”
Me: “…”
Daughter: “…”

Such is the world of “fibro fog”. Even very intelligent people drop clangers left, right, and centre. One of these days I’ll do a post about a couple of my best ones and let you have a good chuckle at my expense. It’s okay, I laugh at myself, so you might as well join in.

Anyway, back to the matter at hand, Daughter’s brain eventually engaged, and she chose the number 2. So, the winner is the writer of the second comment to the “What’s Your Technique” post. That would be you, Ms. Diane, Queen of Arkansas, Empress of Cornbread, and Commander in Chief of Bean Pots in All Southern States. And by golly, one of these days I’ll be knocking on your door to sit at your table and make sure that you’re living up to those titles! I had a prize in mind for you, but I’ve now been told that I can’t have it shipped to the great U.S. of A. So, I’ll change the prize to a $25.00 gift card from the retail emporium of your choice. Like maybe that book store that you like to hang out at now and then, while sipping coffee? Just let me know what your top three favourite “treat stores” are, and I’ll get you set up with a mini spree at one of them. Congratulations!

Thanks to everyone for your comments to that post. I see that we can all agree that smiles and a sense of humour are vital to effective flirting. Can you imagine being with someone who doesn’t have a sense of humour? Just shoot me now, please! I had thought of possible prizes for each of you, not knowing who was going to win in the end, so I’ll keep those ideas tucked away in the back of my mind for future use. I don’t run regular contests, like some bloggers do, but every once in a while the spirit moves me.

By the way, all’s well again, here at Grape Towers. Sorry about the little wobble a few posts ago, but I was doing a medication switch that involved mood-altering drugs and they caused a temporary personality transplant. Oy! Low doses of certain anti-depressants sometimes help with the pain and sleep disorder symptoms that accompany fibromyalgia and CFS, and I happen to be one of the lucky ones on whom they do work reasonably well. Things just have to be switched around every now and then to keep things ticking along as well as is possible. So, I’ll now leave the hand-wringing and angst to the bloggers who thrive on it. That’s just not my style at all. Onward and upward, as they say!

One last thing, if you’d be so kind, could you keep your fingers crossed that spring does actually start to make something of an appearance in this part of the world this week? We’ve had some pretty nasty cold again lately, even by our standards, but the forecast has some tantalizing, warm enough to start a slow thaw, temperatures in view and it would be awfully cruel if they were snatched away again. Not that I make a habit of complaining about the weather as it’s kind of pointless, but it has been a long, cold winter and everyone in this part of the world is starting to feel a bit desperate for some spring warmth.

Now I’m off to put the finishing touches on a meme that I’ve been tagged for multiple times here and on Facebook. Oh, the masses, they demand so much! As you were, good people.

6 thoughts on “The Flirty Winner Is …

  1. Now there's a man with a sense of humour! Always a few meanings to be taken from what you say, Jimmy. And we always enjoy it. ;-)Congratulations, Diane!Agree with you on the weather here, Eleanor. It has been a brutal winter, with very few breaks and those seemed to involve freezing rain and skidding into hell for a number of days.Hopefully the upcoming warming trend doesn't result in the same…. Glad your meds are sorted and things are back on track. 🙂

  2. Aww, I'm flattered, Eleanor! And thank you so much! If you can get a Barnes&Noble card that would be great, but if not, Wal*mart would be fine too. Actually, I cooked pinto beans and bacon, broccoli salad, stewed potatoes and broiled pork steaks for dinner today. No cornbread because the pork steak was in the oven and I didn't have room for a skillet of cornbread. And anytime you're in my neighborhood you just let me know and I'll fix you up with a Southern feast, my friend! :-)Glad you're feeling better and hope you keep improving.Our 8 inches of snow is melting off, but slowly as it's just 0C here today for the high. Beautiful and sunny though!Have a great week!Love and hugs,Diane

  3. Congratulations to Diane on winning your contest:-) I'm thrilled that she won because nice things should happen to nice people!! I've just caught up on your last few posts and had a few giggles over the “flirting” answers. hehe Spring is nowhere close to being “right around the corner” over here…sigh! You usually do get your thaw before us so let me know when it's happening so that I'll know when to expect it! lol Take care my friend and know that I think of you often. xoxo

Share a thought

