A Picture is Worth a Thousand Words


I’ve been asked a lot of questions since my journey with Chronic Fatigue Syndrome/M.E. and Fibromyalgia began. Which is great as both illnesses are still so misunderstood/mysterious and I’ll happily do my bit to increase awareness in any way that I can. Keep the questions coming, please! Some of them are easily answered, but the hardest one for me is always to describe exactly how the fatigue feels, especially at its worst. The best that I can come up with is “if I don’t lie down right here and right now, I just might die”. Which probably sounds pretty over the top to someone who has never experienced this kind of fatigue, even when they know that I’m not a drama queen, or given to exaggeration. There must be better descriptions out there, but I came across the above picture a few days ago and think that it gets the message across far better than any words can. That’s it, right there, for sure.

6 thoughts on “A Picture is Worth a Thousand Words

  1. Dearest Eleanor,I want to thank you so much for the wonderful words of comfort you left on my blog this morning, they truly mean a lot to me. You and I will always have that connection, having lost our dads and missing them. Big hugs to you!!Knowing you, I know that you are not one to exaggerate nor are you a drama queen so I believe you when you explain how it feels to have CFS and Fibro. With all the technology and advancement they've made in the medical field, one would think that they would have come up with a cure for these terrible diseases…I pray that one day they will!! I can't even imagine what you go through every day. Please know that I think of you so often. xoxo

  2. You're very welcome, Pea. We daddy's girls need to stick together. :)A cure for auto-immune diseases would indeed be a lovely thing, but it's probably some way off as there are so many unknowns, at least with the two I've developed. Some people do fully recover from CFS, but it seems to be a rare few. I didn't take proper care of myself early on because I didn't know what was wrong, so I probably screwed myself over right then and there. But I live in hope and refuse to let this define me. I'm still me, and thus it shall always be. *shakes fist at the heavens*And thanks for the ongoing thoughts – good vibes of any kind have to help. 🙂

  3. It makes me wonder just how much money is actually being poured into research into these diseases – does anyone know?CFS and Fibromyalgia are becoming more and more common; surely it's time to find out more, and even better, find a cure?I can't even begin to imagine how frustrating it must be, Eleanor.Hugs (oops, nearly typed 'jugs' – lol!)Leighxoxo

  4. I'm with Anoy. I've read some about these and I cannot imagine. Heard a week or two ago, that the Drs. & drug companys are just doling out meds without the proper research for the causes!Your pix? I feel like that A LOT!!!

Share a thought

