It Lives

It seems that I’ve developed a sudden allergy to birthdays. There I was, merrily reading the lovely birthday greetings from friends early that morning, grinning to myself at the thought of what a splendid day it was shaping up to be. Which is a thought that I should have kept entirely to myself, apparently. The moment that I articulated it to someone else, the imaginary plug fell out of the bottom of my foot, my precious energy supply soaked into the living room carpet, and that was that for the next ten days. Which is not to say that it was an utterly horrid birthday, but I can’t say that I was awake for very much of it. The bits for which I was conscious were indeed splendid, though, so the thought early in the day wasn’t entirely for naught. Flowers, chocolates, new readables, Chinese food, and a scrummy white chocolate and raspberry cheesecake, collectively make a girl feel kinda special, you know? A heartfelt thank you also goes out to all of my lovely friends for the greetings received at my various online homes, by phone, by snail mail, etc. Sniff, sniff, I love you guys! *reaches for hankie*

Actually, spending most of my birthday in a cosy bed wasn’t such a terrible thing, given the nasty deep freeze that arrived just in time for the big day. It has been a rare year when my birthday week hasn’t been the coldest of the winter, and this one was no exception. Apparently it was -40 C. the morning I was born, and that’s about where the mercury sat on this anniversary of the occasion. Which is a tad chilly, even for we hardy, life-long Manitobans.

Was it hard to see the number change from forty-five to forty-six? Not a bit. Age, schmage, it’s just a number and says nothing, really. It’s all in the attitude, peoples, and I’ve renewed my vow to grow old disgracefully. A bit like this gentleman, I think. Yorkshire Soul, the metal head who brought that story to my attention, is going to be exactly like the gent in the video. I’ll be a slightly more subdued version. But only slightly. You’ve been warned, Daughter.

On to more important things, how freakin‘ cool was that inauguration on Tuesday? Yeah, I know, I live in Canada, but who’s in charge across the border really matters, for all of the obvious reasons. Needless to say, I feel a whole lot happier with who’s wielding the whip now. Phew, that was a long eight years, folks! And on a really shallow note, I think I’m crushing on the new VP. I’m a sucker for a nice smile, and his lights up a whole room. Oh, and his eyes twinkle, too – a totally deadly combination. *flap, flap* I could crush on the Pres. quite easily, too, but his wife kind of scares me. I mean, I think that she’s fierce in a totally cool way and I’d love to have a coffee date with her. But I just get the feeling that she’s not the person you want to get really ticked off at you. Oh, and I join the legions who want a hat just like Aretha’s. Only I think I’d like mine in chocolate brown, since grey makes me look kind of pale. Just so you know.

There was something else that I wanted to jabber about a bit before I brought this to a close, but it completely went out of my head. Must have been the thought of megawatt smiles and twinkling eyes, or something. Whatever it was, it can wait for next time. Toodles and thanks again for the birthday love.

3 thoughts on “It Lives

  1. Howdy ma'am. Glad to see a new post from you. I was beginning to wonder if you'd frozen solid up there in the great white North. ;o)It was really cold here too. It got down in the minus teens C which is pretty chilly for us. We occasionally drop down below -20C but that's rare and only happens every 5 years or so. We're having a chilly spell right now and we're forecast to have freezing rain Monday/Tuesday. Definitely not my idea of a good time. We're all electric here so if the power goes off we're skwewed for heat, lights and cooking, not to mention hot water.Hope you have an extended time of renewed energy and feeling well, my friend. Have a great Sunday!Love and hugs,Diane

  2. Almost, but not quite, Diane. We Manitobans seem to be born with some natural anti-freeze in our veins. Note I said natural, there. 😉 I'm sure that the other kind would help on a cold day, too, but my body's alcohol tolerance is so pitifully low that it's hardly worth the effort of opening a bottle. All of my strict Methodist and Presbyterian ancestors must be so pleased. :DHope you haven't lost your power with the ice and such falling in your neck of the woods overnight. I'll take extreme cold and snow over that any day!

  3. Oh dear, so sorry to hear that you were down and out on your birthday but as you say, spending it in bed AND getting spoiled wasn't a bad thing at all! hehe As for the frigid temps, it certainly has been better to stay indoors lately! Today it's actually gone up to -10c so wow, we're having a heat wave:-) You know what they can do with those -40 temps! lol I had never watched a presidential inauguration in my life but I sure did watch the one for Obama:-) Given a chance I think he will be good for the country, as well as the rest of the world. I just love his wife and kids as well!! Hope you did get my birthday card in time:-) xoxo

Share a thought

