I Broke It


So, I spent some time catching up on all of the unanswered comments here. Apologies for the tardiness with that, but I’ve not had a functioning brain since Christmas. You know how it is.

A little later, I checked my e-mail and saw that the commenting system I was using has been bought out by someone else, and that the new owners’ system is going to be forced on us. Which always rankles a bit in principle, but change is often a good thing. Except not this time, as I really didn’t like the new comments thingy at all. I didn’t like the look of it, the workings of it, nothing. I can also see how it would be somewhat confusing and annoying for visitors who want to leave comments. I’m all about ease of use here, so no, it just wouldn’t do at all.

I then proceeded to carefully follow the directions for saving all comments back to the standard Blogger commenting system, and then removing the new replacement totally. All the while I’m thinking, “Wow, what a reasonable bunch to offer us an immediate, easy option to remove their product, without even forcing us to try it for a little while.” Yeah right. I know that I followed the directions exactly, but the comments have disappeared with the switch back to Blogger. I reinstalled everything and went back through it all again, but nope, no comments. Unless there’s some kind of delay in the works, but I’m thinking not.

So, my humblest apologies to everyone who has left a comment here, especially those who were still waiting for a response. I really appreciate your taking the time to leave a few words, and I feel badly that your efforts have disappeared from public view. I do still have them available for my own eyes, though, so at least that’s something.

Now I’ll get back to looking at new computer options for Richard. His put up the blue screen of death a few hours ago. It has been one of those days.

4 thoughts on “I Broke It

  1. GASP! You broke it??? hehe Oh dear, I can well imagine how unsettling it was to lose all your comments:-( I have my comments go straight to my email as well so at least I have them there in case something like that ever happens to me. Hopefully everything will work out fine for you now! xoxo

  2. Yeah, I know, Pea!! There goes my perfect reputation straight down the pan!! πŸ˜€ There are far more upsetting things in life, but I didn't want anyone to think that I just deleted their comments because I felt like it. Never that!

  3. Very true, YS, it could have been a lot worse. Actually, I'm surprised that I haven't screwed something up majorly with all of the fiddling that I've been doing with the HTML. Probably I should stop while I'm still ahead. :)And yes, the book is fantastic. I need to get back to it and finish it one of these days now. It's so frustrating when I have to abandon a good book, until the low part of a fatigue cycle passes. Reading gives me a mega headache then, plus I tend to forget what I've read as soon as I turn a page. Guess I won't attempt War and Peace for a while. πŸ˜‰

Share a thought

