Right!!

“Right” is my standard exclamation when I’m about to get going at something in earnest. Usually it’s accompanied by a pushing up of the sleeves and a squaring of the shoulders, just to show that I really mean business. This blog hasn’t really gotten off the ground properly since I restarted over here in August, but that’s about to change. The sleeves are being pushed up, the shoulders are squared, and off we go. πŸ˜€

Apologies to friends and regular lurkers for another quiet spell, and thanks, as always, for your patience. This blogging break wasn’t for the usual reason, though, as in being knocked off my feet by a relapse or whatever. Rather, I put “entertainment” on hold for a few weeks while I put all of my energy into getting some necessities of life sorted out for myself and my family. I’ve been sick for four years now, and some important things really haven’t been seen to properly in that time. Richard has picked up a lot of the slack, for which I’m eternally grateful, but there are some things that have always been mine to do because I do them much better than he does, and actually like doing them. Which is all fine and dandy when I’m on song, but not so fine and dandy when I’m not. But I finally hit a much better spell health-wise, which lasted just long to achieve what I set out to do. Of course I’m exhausted again now, but hey, I feel like I am on top of things again, so being a layabout for a while is a small price to pay. I’ve lost my control freak tendencies, and good riddance, but at least some semblance of organization shall always be a necessity. Some people thrive amidst chaos and clutter, but I am definitely not one of those people!

Okie dokie, apart from being really tired, everything is quite splendid in my little world just now. Christmas preparations are well in hand, which is very nice indeed after struggling so much the past few Christmas seasons. Last year we simplified some, but this year we simplified lots, and it feels really right. It is always just the three of us for Christmas, and after the other two confessed that they really wouldn’t miss some of the traditions if I let them go, I saw the light. I can be a bit slow on the uptake, you know, especially when it comes to tradition. I wouldn’t admit that to everyone, but I am among friends here, so it feels safe to say it out loud. But only this once. πŸ˜‰ I have a couple of parcels for young nieces to get ready this weekend, and then that will be it for things that must be done, I think. The parcels don’t have far to travel, so there was no rush to get them sent off. It wouldn’t do to torture the young ladies any more than necessary, you know. Or perhaps it would be more accurate to say that I’m sparing the nerves of the parents of said excited young ladies. They’ll miss the pre-Christmas excitement once the girls are grown up, as I do, but you don’t think of that when the kids are bouncing off the walls in the lead up to Christmas. πŸ™‚

Richard is working over Christmas this year, but that’s not a big deal at all to us. I was a nurse and I married a nurse, so working Christmas just goes with the territory. You soon learn to adjust plans to accommodate the work schedule and it’s all just as enjoyable, no matter on which day we do what. This is probably his last Christmas to work anyway, since retirement looms on the horizon. I don’t think that he’s actually ready to quit just yet, but knowing that he can has to be a nice feeling!

Winter had arrived when I did my last post, about a month ago. We did get some nicer weather after that, but it wasn’t nice enough to melt the snow. Still pleasant for the last half of November, going into December, though. Now, however, Old Man Winter is throwing a tantrum and we here on the Canadian Prairies are feeling his wrath. It’s stormy and very cold today, with even colder stuff to come over the next few days. Temperatures will be in the -20s during the day, with windchill values in the -40s, and even colder stuff at night, of course. Not that we don’t get this kind of weather every winter, but the first taste of it always comes as a bit of a shock. We get acclimatized as it goes on, but it literally makes you gasp the first time you step out in it. Still, I truly love this place and can’t imagine living anywhere else in the world. And you can quote me on that!

Thanks again for sticking around during the quiet spell. I have the greatest friends in the world! You can quote me on that, too! πŸ˜€

Share a thought

