And So It Begins



This is what we’ve been looking at for the past few days. I took these during the afternoon gloom on Friday of last week, and we had about that much snow again over the course of the weekend. The arrival of winter was pretty much right on schedule for this part of the world, but it came as a bit of a shock after the exceptionally mild autumn. Monday of last week I was roaming around in shorts, Tuesday was 16 C., and by Thursday afternoon it was snowing. We don’t do things at all gradually around here!

The snow and cold feel natural at this time of year, so we’re not sad to see the arrival of winter. We were all ready for it with the house made snug against winter winds, the furnace given its annual cleaning and check-up, and the car checked over and winterized. Lots of people skip the furnace and car bits, but we won’t take the risk in this climate. Things can still go wrong unexpectedly, but the preventative maintenance before the onset of winter gives a definite sense of security.

The sudden change in weather did make for a worsening of CFS and Fibro symptoms for Alex and me for a few days, but we’re picking up again now. It’s always worse for her because she can’t take anything to prevent the pain from really getting out of hand. I can and do, but have cut back on the dose over the past month or so as I was sick of feeling so sedated. The trade-off is more pain, but so far I prefer that to never really feeling awake and alert. We’ll see if I change my mind as winter progresses, though. There are limits, even for a tough farm-raised girl from the Prairies! 😉

Before I trot off, I want to say a warm welcome to all of the new visitors of late. I’ve been at this for a long time now, but it’s still exciting to see new people dropping by. 🙂 This is a pretty laid back, anything goes kind of place, so come on in, kick your shoes off, put your feet up, and make yourselves at home. You won’t find any lists of blog rules posted around here because I simply can’t be bothered with that kind of nonsense. This isn’t high school and I’m sure that we’re all aware of how to act like grown ups with each other. I don’t delete comments unless they’re obvious spam, and certainly don’t object to anyone expressing thoughts and opinions that differ from mine. A lot can be learned from an exchange of thoughts, and I’m always open to new ideas. Sometimes we’ll have to agree to disagree, but I’ll definitely listen to what you have to say. But of course comments are completely optional. If you want to say something, great, but if you’re shy, that’s fine, too. I’m shy myself, so I don’t object to lurkers. 🙂 I do try to answer all of the comments, but how long it takes depends on how I’m feeling. I will get to you eventually, though, so just be patient. Also, if there’s anything you want to ask, fire away. Maybe I can use your question as an idea for a post when I can’t think of a topic myself during one of my mushy brain spells!

Right, time to toddle off to bed while it’s still dark outside. I keep very strange hours, I know, but surely you don’t expect anything really normal from me at this point, do you? 😉

Until next time …

Share a thought

