Thanksgiving Chez Ours

Thanksgiving
The year has turned its circle,
The seasons come and go.
The harvest all is gathered in
And chilly north winds blow.
Orchards have shared their treasures,
The fields, their yellow grain,
So open wide the doorway —
Thanksgiving comes again!
-Old Rhyme.

Well, that’s Thanksgiving, come and almost gone for another year. Our celebration has been fairly low-key, which is how we generally do things around here. Richard’s family lives half a continent plus an ocean away, and mine is distant in the other sense of the word. So, it’s always just the three of us on special days, and that feels just fine.

Daughter did all of the menu planning and most of the meal preparation so, apart from assembling the stuffing and peeling some vegetables, I pretty much had the day off. Man, I can’t begin to tell you how great it is to have a grown-up daughter who loves to cook. Trust me, it’s not a hardship to give up turkey on such occasions, and partake of a totally vegan feast when someone else is doing most of the work! 😉 Actually, I used to really enjoy making holiday meals for my nearest and dearest, but they’ve become a real struggle since the CFS arrived in my life. For whatever reason, I seem to hit a really low spell just when I need some energy the most, like when there’s a holiday meal to make. Usually the badly timed mega-relapses are just coincidence, but I probably kinda sorta unintentionally caused the current nosedive by overdoing it with the outside autumn chores lately. I really need to “do” sometimes, for the sake of my sanity, and am not always aware that I’ve gone beyond my limits until a couple of days after the fact. Yes, you would think that I’d be aware of my limits after almost four years of dealing with this, but anyone with CFS and/or Fibromyalgia will tell you that there just aren’t any definites. Abilities and limits change from hour to hour sometimes.

But back to the topic of importance, as in the menu, everything was made completely from scratch, and was absolutely superb, especially the pumpkin pie. I really need to quit slandering tofu, but I’m still amazed when things made with it turn out to be totally delicious.

Lentil and wild rice loaf
Mushroom Gravy

Stuffing
Yam and rutabaga mash with maple syrup
Beets with sherry horseradish glaze
Roasted brussels sprouts

Spiced stewed cabbage with apples and apricots

Roasted squash stuffed with maple-glazed pecans
Cranberry sauce
Pumpkin Pie
Dinner rolls
Placido Pinot Grigio wine

There was also a Zinfandel wine, but I ignored it as the Pinot was so delish. At last, a dry white I can enjoy with a meal, and also just as a sipping wine. And no, I’m not a wine expert, so please don’t ask for advice. Daughter chose the wines, with the help of the nice man at the Liquor Mart. If it were up to me, it’d be Asti Spumante or some really cheap, sweet, sparkling “plonk”. Anyone familiar with Strawberry Angel or Lonesome Charlie? Yes, I’m a woman of simple … and questionable … tastes. 😀

There are enough leftovers in the fridge to feed a large army, so feel free to drop by if you’re a vegetable lover. I really need to work with Daughter on the concept of feeding three, rather than thirty-three. Mind you, I’m one to talk as I still think I’m cooking for a family of seven a lot of the time, even though I haven’t done so since I was seventeen. Old habits, and all that.

I hope that all of my Canadian readers had a lovely Thanksgiving, doing whatever makes the day meaningful or special for you.

Share a thought

