Please

Hey All,

Just a flying visit today, but at least it’s a visit.   These long breaks really have to stop.  But, the good news is that I’ve actually been living and doing for the past little while, and I’m sure that you’re not going to hold that against me. 🙂   It feels good to live and do, after way too long without  much in the way of living and doing.  Of course one pays the price when one gets a bit too enthusiastic about living and doing, but never mind.

All of that living and doing didn’t include writing my Christmas cards and notes,  and getting parcels ready to send.  So, I’m kind of under the gun now, and won’t be hanging out on the computer until I get everything done.  I found the writing surface of my desk earlier today, so that’s a good start. Everything’s organized and ready to go for this evening, so now I just need some major cooperation from the arm and hand I use to write.  Please, please, pretty please???

Before I roll my chair from this desk to my writing desk, I want to leave you with a little something to look at/listen to during my absence.  Today is World AIDS Day, and AIDS is a cause very close to the hearts of the boys in my favourite band, for very obvious reasons.  They kindly released a new single today, free for download on the ‘net, as well as a smashing video to go along with it.  It’s the first new studio material for Queen in ten years, so it’s kind of a big deal in its own right.  Of course there’s no Freddie, but I like the new direction they’ve taken, with Paul Rodgers on lead vocals.  Remember Free and Bad Company?  Yes, that  Paul Rodgers, and he’s in as fine vocal form as ever.    After you’ve checked out the video, why not have a look around the whole 46664 site?  For those who don’t know, 46664 was Nelson Mandela’s prison number during his nearly thirty years of confinement.

Fab as the song is, it’s the cause that’s really important, of course.  I lost a friend to AIDS, and know a couple of people living with HIV, so it matters to me.   Those putting themselves at risk – please stop, think, and be careful.  Those who don’t understand – please take some time to learn the facts.   Those who “get it” –  please spread the word.   Please.

Share a thought

