Happy Thanksgiving

Oh dear, it has been a while again, hasn’t it? My ever constant “companions” have been making their presence known in a big way again. You all know by now that they’re cyclical in nature, with highs and lows coming in a fairly regular pattern. But what I have probably never mentioned before is that there are four times per year when they really become boss and I have no choice but to let them take over until they’ve spent their fury over the course of a few weeks. I know that a lot of people pooh pooh the notion that we humans are in tune with the rhythms of Nature, as well as the actions of the planets. But any minute traces of scepticism that I might have harboured completely vanished when CFS and Fibro entered my life. Without fail, I hit a really bad patch when the seasons officially change. Which makes sense, really. It’s a well known fact that changes in atmospheric pressure and such are symptom triggers, so it follows that geomagnetic changes and such, which are known to occur when we reach an equinox or solstice, would have a profound effect on those of us who are especially sensitive to such things. It’s not New Age hokum, honest! Ever heard of Newton’s equinox egg experiment? I rest my case.

Thanksgiving weekend has arrived here in Canada. The traditional rituals are similar to the American Thanksgiving in November, but our holiday has nothing to do with Pilgrims. The root of ours is in church Harvest Festivals, and we celebrate in October because of the earlier harvest in this part of the world.

In the past I’ve opted for stereotypical Thanksgiving greeting images for my annual post. But today these paintings by Jean Francois Millet suddenly appeared in my mind’s eye. They were two of my dad’s favourites, and I gave him a print of each one year for Christmas and his birthday. They had pride of place in the dining room at the farm, as that was the most appropriate spot for them. Anyone who has ever lived on a farm will understand the true meaning of a Thanksgiving celebration. The one above is called The Gleaners, and the one below is The Angelus.

Richard is working on Monday, the actual day of the holiday, so we’ll be having our meal tomorrow. For the first time ever, I’m not going to be the chef for a holiday feast. I had every intention of cooking, as usual, and had turned down the offer from the other two to whip up the meal between them. What kind of fool am I?! Common sense has now kicked in, you’ll be pleased to know. πŸ™‚ I don’t have the energy for a long session in the kitchen anyway, and they are really looking forward to giving me a treat this time. Old habits die hard, though, don’t they?! So, all that I have to do is make the stuffing for the bird, which I can even do tonight, and then I can sit back with my feet up tomorrow, enjoying the aromas wafting from the kitchen. Perhaps I should watch football all day, too, just to get into the switch of roles properly. Or perhaps not. The soccer kind of football I can stick for a few hours, but not the North American variety. Pardon me while I nod off at the mere thought. πŸ™‚

Speaking of nodding off, I am getting tired sitting here, so I should bring this to a close and go for a lie down. A very, very happy Thanksgiving to all of my Canadian friends out in Blogland.

5 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving

  1. Happy Thanksgiving, Eleanor! :-)It will be nice to let your daughter and hubby treat you for a change. Enjoy the pampering. :-)My arthritis is giving me fits right now, so I can relate to the theory about seasonal flare ups.Hope you have a great time Sunday.Love and hugs,Diane

  2. I enjoyed to art-work that you picked out for your post. I thought it was very fitting for a Thanksgiving Harvest theme.It is still hard for me to imagine doing it this early in the year but tradition dies hard for me…lol!Have a Happy Thanksgiving!!

  3. Happy Thanksgiving my friend…a day late! I'm trying to catch up with everyone after having had a very busy long weekend! Oh dear, I'm so sorry to hear that you've been having such a hard time again, I agree with you, any changes with the seasons, planets, moon, etc, can certainly affect how you're feeling. Hope you had a lovely Thanksgiving with your loved ones:-) xoxo

Share a thought

