Things That Lurk in the Dark

I’m glad that some of you enjoyed the poem I posted yesterday, and even happier that it’s going to be shared with children. If I can do anything to help turn children on to poetry, I’m thrilled to bits! My love of poetry started when I was knee high to an ant, and my love of the English language in general was a natural progression from those early rhymes. My dad couldn’t carry a tune in a bucket, but he was forever “singing” little nursery rhymes to me as we walked or drove anywhere, and seemed to have a poem for every occasion as I grew up. Farm chores can be pretty tedious and soul-destroying at times, but not when accompanied by a song or a poem.

Speaking of my farm background, I had a recent flashback to madly barking dogs waking me from my slumber during my growing up years. No barking dogs this time, as we don’t have one, but if we did, it would have been going berserk. The other night I walked outside for some late night fresh air and had a classic “both feet off the floor” moment. Mind you, the critter that caused me to jump was probably even more startled than I was. But finding a human in a city back yard is much more likely than finding one of the creatures shown below! It’s not exactly a rare and exotic species in this part of the world, but definitely not what I expected to find in my back yard, rummaging through the compost pile in the garden. Obviously it made a quick escape up one of our trees when I appeared, but eventually it came down to root around in the bird seed under the feeder. Which is only about three feet from the bottom of the deck, so it was the closest encounter that I’m ever likely to have with a raccoon in the city. And that suits me just fine! Stephanie had never seen one in the flesh before, so she quickly grabbed her camera and started snapping away. I like the alien eyeball effect, but it’s a wonder that the photos turned out at all, considering how dark the night was.

While I’m showing back yard stuff here, I thought I’d throw in a flower picture, too. Oddly, with all of the flowers that I grow, I rarely think to cut any to bring inside. Which is why I don’t do a big indoor decorating job for the various seasons, I guess. Well, except for Christmas, but you know what I mean. I prefer to see Nature’s glory in its natural state, and it seems wrong somehow to bring it inside. My glads have been the exception this year, though, after having them all pilfered by a nocturnal scissor-bearing thief last year. That made me SO angry at the time, as glads are one of my very favourite flowers, for both their beauty and very sentimental reasons. So, I’ve been cutting them as they bloomed this year, and they’ve given us continuous indoor loveliness for the past month or so. A bit unusual as all of the bulbs were planted at the same time, but I’m so pleased at their spacing themselves out for our enjoyment.

My left arm is playing up something awful these days, and I’ve reached my limit with one-handed typing for today. I’ll have to root around in my files a bit and see what I can find for copy and paste blogging until the arm settles down. I’m notorious for saving links and pictures, intending to post them, but then totally forgetting about them by the time I come here to write a post. Which is often about a ten minute interval. 🙂

See ya!

4 thoughts on “Things That Lurk in the Dark

  1. I almost never cut any of my flowers to bring indoors. Like you, I like them better on the plants. Your glads are gorgeous, and it would have made me furious for someone to steal mine at night! Especially since if they'd just ask I'd probably give them some. People these days!We have plenty of 'coons and 'possums here in our small town of 1800 people. I love to watch the critters.Sorry your arm is acting up. Hope you're better soon. :-)Love and hugs,Diane

  2. I sometimes cut a rose or two to bring inside but I also prefer nature where it grows.:)Somebody cut your glads last year? How cruel.:(Coons, like other wild critters are becoming more and more urban as we urbanites encroach more and more on their territory. Raccoons are notorious scavengers and if you have copost they WILL come.:P

  3. Love your picture of the raccoon with the alien eyes! We get them at our pond on a very regular basis, (unfortunately) as they love to have a dinner of our fish.Your glads are gorgeous. It's too bad they stole the blooms last year.Hope your arm feels better soon.xo

  4. We have a family of raccoons living nearby and we've had to tie down our garbage can lid because of the rascals! I find it so spooky the way their eyes shine like that out of the darkness. Your flowers are so beautiful and like you, I hardly ever cut any to bring in the house…I just like them blooming in their natural element:-) Take care of that hand my friend!! xoxo

Share a thought

