Labour Day Weekend

So, here we are at the last long weekend of the summer. Boy, that came up quickly. Wasn’t it just the May long weekend? I know that time is supposed to seem to zip by more quickly as we get older, but add brain fog to the mix and all concept of time goes right out the window. Next thing you know it’ll be Christmas, and it doesn’t seem like more than a few weeks since I put last year’s Christmas back into boxes. Gah!

Anyway, how are you all doing this weekend? No doubt many of my North American friends and lurkers have this or that planned for the holiday weekend, and hopefully you’re all enjoying whatever it is that you have planned. For those who don’t have any special plans, hey, join the club! Not that I’ve ever done anything exciting for Labour Day mind you, so it never even occurred to me to make any plans. Besides which, Richard is working this weekend, and Stephanie and I are both achy and tired, so yeah, a quiet weekend is definitely fine by me. Woo, last of the party animals here, I tell ya! 🙂

That’s a shot of some of the apples I shook off our tree yesterday, and prepared for the freezer last evening. They’re a bit beaten up after a recent pummelling by hail and wind, and I lost some of the crop in that storm. But there were more than enough left on the tree to provide us with many, many dessert options in the coming months. It’s not a hard job by any means, but man, is it tedious. I started peeling and slicing at around 6:00 and just finished cleaning up the kitchen when Richard walked in the door at 11:30. There were a few short breaks as I was doing laundry at the same time, and Stephanie brought me a Subway sandwich when she got back from her shopping outing. But mostly I was working at the apples all that time. Booooorrrring

And yes, I did mean it when I said that I shook them off the tree. I don’t do ladders, you see, not under any circumstances, so how else does one get apples down off a 15 to 20 foot tree? Exactly! Shaking the living daylights out of a tree is also a great way to work off one’s pent up frustrations. 😉 I must be getting my tree shaking technique down to an art form, as I didn’t get belted on the head at all by falling apples this time. Not that an apple is going to do any damage to my thick skull, but it’s always a more pleasant experience to not have contact between skull and apples.

Oh, and in case you haven’t noticed yet, I tend to be most productive in the evenings, which is why it suits me very well to have Richard back working the evening shift. That has absolutely nothing to do with the CFS and fibro, by the way. It’s the result of a dominant gene, or whatever, from my dad’s side of the family. We’re a bunch of night owls naturally, and nothing is ever going to change that. I always worked the evening shift by choice back in my nursing days and before, and it has always been when I most feel like getting stuck into big jobs here at home. Even if I’ve had a good sleep the night before and am up in reasonable time in the morning, the gears don’t really start to turn properly until late afternoon. Hey, it would be a boring world if we all kept to the same schedule, right? 🙂

Now I suppose that I should make my way to the kitchen and throw something together for supper. Which is a total breeze on evenings when Richard is at work. Stephanie and I are both into stuff that’s quick and easy to prepare, so it’s almost like having a night off from the kitchen when Mr. Meat and Potatoes is at work. I’ll consult the other mouth that needs to be fed, but if she doesn’t have a preference, I’m thinking spaghetti with meatless sauce, or a tossed together pasta and veggie combo of another sort. Like I said, quick and easy. And, most importantly, not much cleaning up after!

Take care all, and enjoy the rest of the weekend. 🙂

8 thoughts on “Labour Day Weekend

  1. Every single time I've put up apples I've gotten blisters from holding the knife for hours, peeling and slicing and coring. It's a good feeling knowing you've accomplished something and have something laid by for later treats, though.Our meals have gotten much simpler since Jessica married and moved out. Here lately I haven't even been cooking Sunday Dinner, which is very unusual for me. I hope to get back in that groove next Sunday, because I already know I'm not cooking this Sunday.We don't have any plans for Labor Day either, except hubby plans to watch sports. That's it. So don't feel like you're the only party duds around. ;-)Love and hugs,Diane

  2. Well, I think they are pretty apples despite their beating by the weather.I'm thinkin' apple cake *grin*Take care from the early bird to the night owl…lol!

  3. Yup, Diane, the canning and freezing routines in summer can be a pain, literally, but the effort is always worthwhile when we tuck into the results of our labours during the winter months. No blisters from the apple evening, by the way, but I can still see a slight knife dent in my thumb pad, not to mention a few stains on my fingers. And yes, I do wash my hands many times per day. Just so you know. ;)Like I said over at your place, I'll never give you a hard time about not cooking Sunday dinner. Heck, if I could get out of it for several weeks in a row I'd be a happy woman indeed! :)Ah yes, sports and Labor Day. Kind of a given for the menfolk, isn't it?!

  4. Mmm, apple cake sounds like a great idea, Tammy. 🙂 I froze the apples in portions perfect for a large pie or apple crumble, but of course those portions can be divided for other recipes. I have a great apple muffin recipe that I haven't made in years, so will have to give that a whirl again, too.I guess that our sleep and awake habits are proof that opposites do attract! 😉

  5. Our apples are still on the tree but I'm thinking we should pick them soon before the bear that's been hanging around finds them…surprised he hasn't yet! lol At least our apple tree is just a little one so I don't have to shake it! hehe I love it when Eddie is on afternoon shifts (4 pm to midnight), I just throw a frozen dinner in the microwave for myself!! I've just finished baking 4 dozen buttertarts so now it's break time! lol xoxo

  6. Yes, Pea, a bear is definitely not something I'd want to be sharing my apples with, either!! I don't think that I could run to save my soul right now, but a bear in my back yard might just get the legs moving after all!! :)Mmm, butter tarts. What a tease you are!! I haven't made them in ages … deliberately as I can't resist them … so thanks a lot for setting off a craving!! Hmph. :)I'm sure that you sampled your wares, so did you leave any room for a microwaved meal this evening??

  7. I must agree full heartedly with you that shaking the tree is a much safer route than ladders (with my history on bone fractures!).What a nice batch of apples… I'll bet your home is smelling delightful with the preserving and preparing of many apple delights.Good to hear you had a relaxing weekend… we did the camping thing. Headed to Banff and were tourists (without hubby, alas, he had to work).

  8. Um, yes, I can see why you'd avoid ladders, Desi!!I saw the photos from your trip to Banff – very nice indeed! That's somewhere I've always wanted to go, and your photos made it seem even more enticing. Camping, eh? Is it really still considered camping when you have the comfort of your lovely motorhome? That kind of camping I might not mind. 😉

Share a thought

