What’s Your Talent?

“Your talent is God’s gift to you. What you do with it is your gift back to God.”
– Leo Buscaglia

I heard the above quote while watching an ancient episode of “ER” yesterday. I’d heard it before somewhere, but for some reason it really reached out and grabbed me yesterday. Maybe it was a hint that I need to start making better use of my natural talents. I’d had that thought recently anyway, but a little extra nudge never goes amiss.

So, tell me, what are your talents? Serious question here, so don’t go all modest on me, okay? It’s not a “sin” to acknowledge who we are as individuals, and that’s all that I’m asking you to do. We each do some things better than Mr. or Ms. Average, and I’m convinced that each of us reaches genius/truly gifted rank in at least one area. Sometimes we don’t recognize what it is in our own mind, but it’s there, waiting to be noticed.

6 thoughts on “What’s Your Talent?

  1. I've been told I have a way with people and children…I do know that I have a nurturing soul and want to make sure everyone has what they need…I don't know if that is a talent or not…my Hubby says I have a very forgiving spirit and treat even people that have been horrific to me like royalty. He tells he admires me all the time *blush*Anyhoo…I've recently discovered that I like tweeking my blog decor…ohhhh and let's not forget…when I cook the dishes get licked clean…:)Does any of this count for talent…or just my nature…

  2. Yes, Tammy all of that does count as talent. 🙂 Even though I've only known you for a short time, if you had asked me what I think your talents are, I'd have said exactly what you mentioned here. Apart from licking the plates clean, of course, as I've never dined at your house. ;)Most of us are probably very modest by nature and don't acknowledge our natural gifts in the way that others do. So, I can totally relate to why you blush when your hubby tells you that he admires you. I react in the same way when my hubby says the exact same thing to me about my capacity for forgiveness. I'm a nurturer by nature, too, so I guess there are reasons why you and I connected so quickly. Kindred spirits tend to recognize each other, don't they? :)As for talent vs. nature, I believe that our individual nature includes our talents. We can learn to do certain things that we're not naturally programmed to do, and learn to do them quite well. But my own opinion is that the things at which we truly excel (whether we're aware of it or not) are a result of natural programming.Have a great day, Tammy the Talented! 😀

  3. I'm also a nurturer, especially babies and kids. I'm a Mama and I'm good at it, if I do say so myself.I'm a good Southern home cook. I'm not a gourmet cook and I know it.I'm a good organizer. I don't practice my skilz enough here at home, but I'm good at organizing.I'm good with animals of all types. I love them and they love me. Dogs and cats that nobody else can get close to will come to me. And birds, I'm good with birds.I'm a fairly good singer. Not as good as I was when I was younger, but still pretty good.I'm good at almost any needlecraft, with the exception of knitting. Can't learn to knit to save my life.I'm good with mechanical things and household repairs, etc.I'm good with plants and growing things.I'm a good leader, but I'm also a good follower.My list of non talents and gifts is a lot longer than the things I'm good at. ;-)Love and hugs,Diane

  4. That's a very impressive list of talents, Diane! :)Gourmet cooking is a bit overrated, in my opinion. Nice for a change, but you can't beat good, stick to the ribs, homestyle cooking. I'm a farm girl by origin, still cook that way, and am not likely to change my habits now.:)I hear you about the knitting. I can knit, but I'm not very good at it, and don't enjoy it. Any other kind of needlecraft just seems to come naturally, though.As for the mechanical and household repairs bit, I don't share your enthusiasm and skill level. I can do some jobs, if I put my mind to it, but such things are definitely not on my talents list. Nor do I want them there as they aren't my idea of a good time. Just sayin'. 🙂

  5. I can cook a bit, I can write a bit as well when I put my mind to it, and I've got really good stamina, a pleasent day's hiking for me would be 20 miles plus and a 16 hour shift is just a normal day's work.When God blessed me with whatever I've got, he took away any skill at anything resembling mechanics or DIY to compensate, give me a screwdriver and just moments later I need a bandage / stitches / minor surgery etc.

  6. Ah good, you found your way over here, too, YS. That means that the list of most important people are here now and I can stop thinking about the other place in terms of blogging.As for your talents, you're far too modest, sir. Your job title obviously means that you can cook far more than a bit, and I can personally vouch for your being able to write more than a bit. I mean that! :)You definitely have it right about your stamina, though. Even when I was healthy, I'm not sure that I could have kept up to you. 16 hour work days, yes, but hiking over 20 miles, I doubt it. But just remember that having that particular gift doesn't mean that you should use it continuously. Hike, yes, but watch the work hours during your next busy season. That's an order!I totally hear you abou the DIY and mechanical stuff. I can do a few small jobs if I put my mind to it, but have been known to muck things up rather badly, too. Richard is uutterly useless at such things, and it's definitely better if he leaves the tools in the box. Oy! But we have other talents that matter more, so it's all good, right? 🙂

Share a thought

