A Change of Seasons

Oh look, it’s all earth tones over here again. Now that the visual receptors in my brain are working properly again, I was getting strong “oh no, this is all wrong” messages. No disrespect to those who like pretty, “cool” pastels, particularly pink, but my own preference has usually been for warmer tones, or dark jewel tones. My eyes really dislike certain colours and let me know in no uncertain terms. Just ask pen pals who have written long letters in bright pink ink. I’m usually much too polite to complain about such things, but I eventually had to put out a plea for any ink colour but pink. Too much pink gives me a headache and makes me feel quite queasy. Don’t know why that happens, but it does. Red can be a problem, too, depending on the other colours with/near it, as can some shades of purple/mauve, and even some pastel blues. Yes, I’m a weird one, but that has been established for a very long time now. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m certainly not going to ask you pink lovers to change your blog colours just to suit me, but now you know why I had to get away from the mauve, blue and pink colour scheme here on my own blog. And why I won’t be using one again. Unless something weird happens with my eyes again. Which I really don’t want to happen, as that will mean that other things are getting weird again, too.

Anyway, I was sitting here, trying to think of what I might like to do for a new look, when Daughter descended the stairs. I had been looking at various images and such for inspiration, but nothing was clicking. I had a vague idea in my head, but hadn’t succeeded in translating it into the right words for an image search. So, while I went to collect the laundry hamper, Daughter said that she’d have a look in her saved images to see if she had something I might like. She has done so many layouts for me over the past five and a half years, so knows what I like … even better than I do a lot of the time. So, I got to the bottom of the stairs with the hamper, which took all of a minute or so, glanced over at the computer screen, and, of course, there was a perfect image for my header. How DOES she do that, time after time? I told her that I could take it from there, as changing everything else is pretty easy once I have the image I want. But not quick, as I’m still such a novice at this kind of stuff. So, I proceeded to sort the laundry and took the first load down to the washer, which took, oh, ten minutes or less. I came back up to the livingroom and heard, “Do you like this?” “This”, being a completed layout. Sickening, I tell you, absolutely sickening. But thank you, Stephanie. It’s beautiful, and exactly what I wanted for a late summer kind of feel. And yes, I feel totally inadequate in your presence, Oh Speedy Website Designing One! ๐Ÿ™‚

While it’s still very much summer, I’m sensing the passage of the season. Of course there are obvious signs in the garden, with the late summer vegetables and flowers now maturing, and the earlier things finished for the year. But the less obvious clues are there now, too. The colour of the sky and sun are changing ever so slightly, the shadows are lengthening, and nightfall arrives just a bit earlier with each passing week. The air smells and feels different, too. I know that many consider it a sin to wish summer away, and I’m not really doing that. But, having lived in a climate with four very distinct seasons all my life, there’s always a feeling of anticipation when you feel the transition beginning. I love autumn more than any of the other seasons, and am so looking forward to all of its splendour. Many find autumn a sad time of year as it’s sort of a “putting to bed” season. But that’s one of the things I like about it. Much as I love gardening, I’ve had enough of it by the time the autumn frosts arrive, and it’s a nice feeling to get things cleaned up. Winter has its down sides in this part of the world, but there are lots of nice things about it, too, including the slower pace of life in general. I’ve always felt that way, not just since a slower pace became a necessity. Too much ofย  anything takes the joy out of it, so having to adapt our activities to each of the seasons keeps the enjoyable stuff fresh and fun, and the work stuff from becoming a total drag. Which is not to say that I haven’t directed really evil thoughts at a snow shovel by the end of the season, but yes, the previous statement still holds true … even when it comes to shovelling snow. Most winters.

I read a fascinating book all in one sitting yesterday … because it was so fascinating. I was going to do a review of it here, but I think I’ll save it for another time now. It really deserves a post of its own, rather than being buried under a lot of other words.

But before I go, I want to say a big thank you for the comments to the post below, and the well wishes contained therein. I’m going to quit talking about my health so much now, as it’s becoming a tedious subject for me, and no doubt for you, too. If anything changes in a big way I’ll say so, but otherwise there are other things I’d rather talk about. The new medication is working well, and will probably work even better as time goes on. But it’s not a cure, and there are still going to be ups and downs, as that’s just the nature of the beast. If these early days are anything to go by, though, the down spells will be less frequent and less severe, with the up spells having me feeling almost like my old self again. And that’ll do quite nicely.

Take care, all, and have a great weekend!

5 thoughts on “A Change of Seasons

  1. I do like your new look. Much easier on the eyes, and more suited to your personality, I think. :-)I'm beginning to see some subtle signs that Summer is waning and Fall is waiting in the wings. Of course your seasons begin changing much earlier where you live than they do down South where I'm at.Have a great Friday and weekend, Eleanor! :-)Love and hugs,Diane

  2. Oh yes, I do love your new look…love what you've done to the place DAHLINK!! hehe Having known you for so long, I'd say these here colours are more you:-) Stephanie is going to have to start renting herself out to us whenever we want a blog change! lol She's got beauty AND brains…no fair! lol Glad to hear that the new meds are helping…fingers crossed that your days get easier now! Although the days are starting to get shorter, it's been so hot here the last few days, I haven't felt Fall in the air at all yet! Nothing in our garden is ready to eat yet, probably won't be until the end of August! xoxo

  3. Steph is so talented she could very easily go into business…I wish I had her at my house!!I have visions of what I want my blog to be but alas still muddling through trying to figure out what's what…learning a bit a t time…but I guess that is all good too.I love this color scheme…but I liked the last one you did in green too!It is nice that we have the freedom to change them with the seasons or our tastes at the time…I wonder that I may not ever want a 'set' template as I do like to change things around from time to time. Plus they are terrible expensive…I saw some the other day upwards to $250…just thing Steph could be a ga-zillion-air if she decided to follow this route!!Glad to hear your feeling better…I've noticed the shadows getting longer here too…I can't wait till fall!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Thanks for the nods of approval, ladies! ๐Ÿ™‚ This is definitely more “me”, but it never hurts to step outside of our established comfort zone now and then, right?And no, Susie, your blog doesn't bother me. But who cares if it did?! It's your space, and you can decorate your space any old way you like. ๐Ÿ™‚ It's just pink in large doses that gets to me, as in looking at it for long periods of time. Which I would do here on my own blog, but the time that it takes to read someone else's blog is neither here nor there. I actually have a pink living room, believe it or not, but it's a very pale shade, and not a “pure” pink, if you know what I mean. It wasn't intended to be any shade of pink at all, but the hardware store mixed the paint colour incorrectly and Richard had painted two coats on the whole room before I saw it. After that effort, I didn't have the heart to complain. :)Tammy and anyone else, if you want some help modifying an existing blog layout, or having one done for you from scratch, Stephanie has volunteered her services … for free. Sure, she could charge money for her skills, but she refuses to do so for her own friends, or mine. It's just the way she's built. ๐Ÿ™‚ She enjoys doing design stuff, so you won't be putting her out at all, believe me. The only condition is that you not give her an exact time limit. She can do this kind of thing really quickly, obviously, but she has the same ailment as I do, and it slows her down in a big way sometimes. So, if you happen to hit one of her down spells when you make the request, you'll just have to wait a week or two until she's having a good spell again. Okay? Okay! :)And yup, Pea, and everyone else, I am doing better. Kind of a weird better, but better. The weird bit is very hard to explain, so I won't even try, except to say that it's a good kind of weird. ๐Ÿ™‚ I think I just need a bit of time to get used to it.

Share a thought

