Clearing the Cobwebs

Dear oh dear, I’ve been doing it again, haven’t I? This blog is going to start sporting permanent cobwebs in the corners if I don’t get the updates coming more regularly!

All’s well here. I’ve just been zonked since I started on a new treatment regime last Wednesday. It’s working beautifully, but I sure do sleep a lot! But that’s not a bad thing. It has been a very long time since I had proper, refreshing sleep, and the body has a lot of catching up to do. Apart from sleeping more than I’d like, though, it’s all good. The brain fog is clearing, pain and muscle spasms are diminishing, and so is the feeling of general exhaustion. My bones feel solid again, rather than consisting of plasticine. And that’s a good thing!

I did goof the night before last, though, and skipped the new medication. Which the doctor told me I could do if it was making me too sleepy when I took it every night. I was a lot more awake yesterday, but by evening the brain fog and pain were setting in again, and I had a wicked time getting to sleep because of back spasms and twitchy legs. I also disturbed Richard’s sleep with all of my twitching and moving around, trying to find a comfortable position. Oops. He’s a pretty easy-going guy, but is obsessional about his sleep and doesn’t like it disturbed. And that’s all I’m saying. 😉 I had taken the med again last night, though, so once I got to sleep, I had a good one. So good, in fact, that I didn’t open my eyes until 1:30 this afternoon. Ahem. The residual sleepiness should wear off after a couple of weeks, so I’ll stick to the nightly regime now, and see how it goes. Feeling really good in between sleep sessions is definitely preferable to the alternative.

In other news, it has been hot, hot, hot here again. Disgustingly so, at least from my perspective. The worst day was last Wednesday, when I had to go out for my session with the doctor. Naturally. We smashed old records for heat plus humidity that day, with a town just south of here setting a new Canadian record of 53 degrees C. Ick. It was so humid that my glasses fogged up when I walked outside. Now that’s a first, and I don’t want to experience it again for a long time, thank you. A wicked storm moved in late in the afternoon, though, and cleared the air in a big way. It has still been hot and humid since then, but nothing like it was that day. It’s to cool down a bit for a couple of days after today, which will be a nice reprieve. Then it’s hot again for the weekend, but if the long range forecast holds true, we’ll go back down to the mid 20s by the middle of the week and stay there for a good chunk of August. That’s more like it. The nights cool down when we hit August, so this is probably summer’s last big blast of heat. Sounds good to me! Over the past couple of weeks I’ve come to the conclusion that I definitely prefer cold to heat. Well, I’ve always known that, but I mean severe cold is preferable to severe heat. And yes, you can remind me that I said that in mid- January! 🙂

Richard is a happy camper these days as he finally has a definite date for switching to his new job. They kept him hanging, which wasn’t very nice, but yesterday he was told that he starts part-time evening shifts on August 13th. Well, the 10th, actually, as he has an orientation shift that evening, but officially the date is the 13th. He can’t wait, and neither can the women in his life. None of us is a day person by nature, and evening shifts are what feel natural to us. That’s what I always worked, by choice, and the household definitely ran more smoothly when Richard worked evenings in the past. So, with days off taken into consideration, he only has to set his alarm seven more times, and then he’s free of that awful thing for the rest of his life. This stint on evenings will see him into permanent retirement, so 5:00 get ups are almost history forever and ever. Personally, I don’t know how he has done it for this stretch of six years. Six days of getting up at that hour would have had me whimpering for mercy. Needless to say, I don’t miss Stephanie’s school days when the alarm forced me out of bed way before I was ready to get up. Not as early as Richard, but way too early for my natural rhythm.

Speaking of Richard’s work hours, I should get off here and get the kitchen tidied up a bit and the coffee maker fired up, as he’ll be home from work in a few minutes. Much as I enjoy our little catch up sessions over a cup of coffee when he gets home, I’m as ready for a change of routine as he is. I’m so not a same old, same old, day after day, week after week, month after month, year after year person! 🙂

Hope you’re all keeping well out there, and I’ll be around to catch up with you later, unless someone else is hogging the computer!

4 thoughts on “Clearing the Cobwebs

  1. So glad to hear the med is working for you!Hot here too but I just stay inside on these days…I much prefer spring and autumn to summer and winter 🙂

  2. It's miserably hot and humid here, Eleanor, but that's par for the course in Arkansas for Summer. I'm with you, you'll never hear me complain no matter how cold, snowy, icy, etc. it gets, but this extreme heat and humidity is for the birds. No, I take that back — even the birds suffer in this weather!Glad you're feeling better, and I hope your meds balance out and do the trick for you. :-)Love and hugs,Diane

  3. As long as I don't start seeing spiders coming across my monitor from those cobwebs, we're all set! hehe Glad to hear that the new meds seem to be working out fine and that you can notice a difference already…long may it continue to work for you:-) It's been so hot here too the last couple of days, I'm double thankful for the air conditioner we put in last year!! They said on the news yesterday that with the humidity it was 103F…I haven't gone outside all day today, I'm stayin' where it's cool! Good for Richard that he's finally got a date to when he'll start his new shift…he certainly deserves to have it easier!!! I know I owe you an email…will get at it soon but just so not to leave you hanging much longer…you were right about something you asked! hehe xoxox

Share a thought

