Ode to Summer Produce… and Good Olde English Grub

At last, the spartan produce choices have given way to the beginning of summer’s bounty. Summer means barbecue season to many folk, but to me it’s all about the fresh fruit and vegetables. Not that I’ve ever said no to an invitation to a good barbecue, but it’s just not our thing here at home. I’m more of a salad person, or a table laden with assorted cooked fresh from the garden or local organic market goodies.

The real bounty hasn’t arrived yet, but just the tastes we’ve had in the past couple of weeks have me in near ecstasy. Yes, I like food, and I’m not going to apologize for it. Especially when we’re talking fruit and veg. Fresh local asparagus, the first scrummy cherries of the season, imported peaches and mangos that are sweet juice running down your arm delicious, and on it goes. We buy local as much as we can, but until more local variety is available, the less travelled than in winter imports will do just fine.

No coincidence that I’ve been gradually perking up health-wise over the past couple of weeks, I’m sure. Especially since the produce hitting our table has all been organic, rather than standard supermarket fare. We used an organic home delivery service for a couple of years, but quit last winter because the quality and quantity just weren’t up to snuff anymore. And both Stephanie and I paid the price in the ensuing months. Contrary to what many believe, the benefits of organic eating are real, not just some airy fairy thing dreamed up by granola crunchers. I grew up eating nothing but organic and free range, and thus have never had a great tolerance for chemical-laden stuff. CFS makes one even more sensitive to chemicals, so it only makes sense that I’d feel the difference when organic goods weren’t on our table for a few months. Which is not to say that organic is a miracle cure for anything, but it’s certainly a help when the body’s systems are all out of whack.

Still on the food theme, Richard is manning the kitchen today, so I’m sitting here typing when I’d normally be making supper. Life is so rough some days, you know! 😉 Every once in a while he gets a mean craving for tastes of “home” and today was one of those days. Bangers and mash was his original idea this morning, but that changed to bangers with bubble and squeak by noon. Good choice! Apparently he hasn’t had a decent “banger” since he left England, but I don’t know about that. Our favourite butcher is English and uses a traditional sausage recipe, so methinks that Richard might be exaggerating slightly. They taste fine to me, anyway, but what do I know? 😉

On a totally unrelated note, you’ll have noticed that I’ve managed to get all of my archives over here. Well, all that were available for transfer, anyway. The previous three and half years’ worth will have to be just for my own perusal. I’ve combined the archives of three different blogs here, so it’s kind of nice to have everything in one place. See, I really intend to keep my promise about not moving around anymore! 🙂 In fact, I’m considering shelling out a few sheckels for a paid account here, just for a bit more versatility. The main thing is font size, as my vision changes as I go through the fatigue cycle. Likely a new pair of glasses are in order soon, too, but mostly it’s just down to the CFS. So, it would be nice to have the font slightly larger so I don’t have to either sit across the room to read it, or have my face inches from the monitor, depending on what my eyes are doing that day. Always something to moan about, isn’t there? 😉

The chef tells me that supper is almost ready, so time to quit blathering here and head off to the kitchen. The aroma coming from there is absolutely divine, but I’m just a bit reluctant to leave my cool spot here, directly in front of the duct from which the work of our air conditioner is pouring. Central air is probably the thing I love most about this house! Not that I’m really complaining about the muggy heat this weekend, as we needed a break from two weeks of cool, wet stuff. But I would be complaining if I didn’t have an air conditioned house! Much as I try to be environmentally friendly, I can’t compromise when it comes to being comfortably cool. I’ve never been very heat tolerant, but it turns me into a very limp noodle because of the CFS. And I don’t do limp noodle, if I can avoid it.

Ciao.

4 thoughts on “Ode to Summer Produce… and Good Olde English Grub

  1. Hello my dear friend:-) Finally getting caught up here with all your news!! I've never bought organic veggies and fruit…the price kind of puts me off! lol I do love being able to eat the veggies from our garden, though…but that won't be until July or so! Eddie planted the potatoes yesterday but that's all that's been planted so far. The cherries were on sale this week and it's twice now I've gone out to buy some…yummmm!! It's been so hot and humid here this past week but it's about to change…the high on Tuesday will be 10c!!! Sheesh! xoxo

  2. I'm so glad you educated me today…I had always wondered what “bangers and mash” was…I had heard it in the past somewhere!I need to eat more veggies and fruit period. I notice I feel better then whether it is organic or not!As for your site…I wear bifocals and am constantly tilting my neck back to look at the computer…my therapist has instructed me on my posture which helps…Have a good evening!:)

  3. Believe it or not, I know what bubble and squeak is and I like it! I like sausages too but I'm not sure I'd know an authentic English sausage if I tasted one. :-)It's nice to know we agree about the heat and the summer veggies and fruits.My doctor suspects that I have CFS but I've never been officially evaluated and diagnosed because my insurance lapsed and I'm waiting for a hearing for my disability.I like your new digs, by the way! :-)Hope you have a wonderful first week of June!Love and hugs,Diane

  4. Thanks for the comments, ladies.Pea, you're right, organic is more expensive. But I don't buy myself many treats, or spend much on myself in general, so I figure that I'm worth it. 🙂 But it's not just a treat, it's an essential part of trying to feel better. I'd rather eat well than swallow a huge bunch of pills and supplements, as others with CFS and Fibro do. I absolutely must take Vitamin B12, in combo with folic acid and B6, and Glucosamine is a big help with the constant aches and pains. But otherwise I get all that I need from my diet.Glad to be of help, EB. 🙂 I knew a lot of British terms for things because of my heritage and friends as I was growing up. But I've learned a whole lot since getting together with Richard, too! You're right, fruit and veggies from any source make a huge difference in how we feel. Even before I got sick, I knew when I had neglected that part of my diet for a few days. I guess there's something to be said for a healthy, country raising, huh?! As for the vision bit, I wear progressive lenses, so shouldn't have to deal with the head tilting bit. Although I still do, on occasion, depending on what my eyes are doing on any particular day. I have crappy posture anyway, so it's just as well that I don't wear bi-focals!Hi Diane! I'm still a bit sceptical about the whole authentic English sausage thing, but don't tell Richard. 🙂 Again, I grew up eating a lot of British things, so likely he and I are on more or less the same wavelength. I guess that the difference is in the seasoning. I don't know how it is in your part of the continent, but garlic is a favourite seasoning here in most things. Blech. Richard doesn't like it, and my stomach won't tolerate it. So, our local sausages usually have garlic in them, and wheat flour or oatmeal as filler. English sausages taste like sage and mild onion, and I think the filler is cornmeal. Much nicer flavour, for sure.Still speaking to you, Diane, I didn't realize that you have a possible CFS diagnosis, too. It sounds pretty accurate to me, judging from what I've learned about you so far from your blog. It's such a tough thing to diagnose, and there just aren't any conclusive tests for it. Most of us get the diagnosis through a process of elimination. Once all of the big scary stuff is ruled out, and there's nothing else to explain the symptoms in our bloodwork and such, CFS is about all that's left. And/or Fibromyalgia, which is so closely related to CFS. The feeling as of recently is that I have both, since pain is much more of a problem now than in the past. But again, it's kind of a guessing game. Anyway, I hope that you can get your disability situation sorted out soon. It must be truly terrifying to have no health insurance, as well as missing out on income that you're entitled to. Our health care system isn't perfect, but care is always there for everyone, regardless of circumstances. And for that I'm truly grateful. Even at income tax time. 😉 The initial gnashing of the teeth eases when I think about the alternative of not having our universal health care system funded through taxation.

Share a thought

