Happy Mother’s Day


I’ve already read some lovely Mother’s Day posts today, paying tribute to some wonderful mothers out there. But I’m going to put a different spin on it, and pay tribute to the lovely young woman who has given a whole new meaning to Mother’s Day since 1987.

I won’t embarrass her by going on and on about what a fantastic person she is. Modesty runs in the family, you know! But I will say that I am incredibly proud to be her mother and ever so grateful to her for giving me the best job I’ll ever have.

I know of so many mothers who are incredibly sad when their children grow up and the relationship changes. I understand that to a certain degree, when I look at Stephanie and get glimpses of the little girl who once was. In those moments I do miss my little one, but only for a moment. I like where we are now and honestly wouldn’t turn the clock back, even if I could. The heavy duty mothering is over and done with, but I’m certainly not having any kind of Mom identity crisis. It’s natural and healthy to embrace the transition from one life stage to another, and I’m embracing it, believe me. Time to reap some rewards now after all those years of hard work! 🙂 My Mother’s Day card this year is all about having a mom who’s also a friend, and I treasure that sentiment. This is where I hoped we’d be at this stage of her life, and it’s a great feeling to know that we’ve arrived.

Happy Mother’s Day to everyone celebrating today. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day

  1. Thanks for your sweet comments on my blog. :-)My daughter was born in 1987, too. November 3rd, to be precise. And I feel the same way about my relationship with Jessica. Our relationship now is the best it's ever been.Have a great week, and thanks for visiting me.Diane 🙂

  2. Thanks, Susie. I agree that Stephanie's a beauty, but I am just ever so slighly biased about such things! 🙂

  3. A great big welcome to you, Diane! 🙂 I've enjoyed getting to know you through your blog, and look forward to getting to know you even better!1987 was a rather special year, wasn't it? 🙂 Stephanie was born on January 30th, so is a bit older than your daughter. But hey, what's a few months here and there?!

  4. Sigh…I'm late visiting again!! Happy Mother's Day dear friend…even if I'm a little late! lol Stephanie has grown into such a beautiful woman and you have every right to be so proud of her! xoxo

Share a thought

