Um, Hi?

Death by taxes? Nope, but I can see why you’d be wondering. Good grief, it has been a while, hasn’t it? I didn’t plan to disappear for so long, it just sort of happened. Richard was on holidays for ten days, just going back to work today, and I got totally out of my rhythm. I blame the “kid”, too, though, as we share the computer and she was inconveniently parked in this spot whenever I had the urge to do some posting. *glares in her general direction*

Just kidding, Steph. Well, mostly. πŸ™‚

Anyway, this will be written in a hurry as I need to find my way to the kitchen and start throwing something together for supper. Something soft, that is, as I have a very unhappy molar and it’s mighty uncomfortable to chew today. No new cavity, at least not as far as I can see. Rather, it’s a case of a popcorn husk wedging itself between tooth and gum a few days ago. It’s amazing how such a small thing can be such a, well, pain. I finally dislodged the offending object this morning, so all should be fine in a few days, after the tooth recovers from the initial trauma, as well as my digging around the gum line efforts. Will it stop me from eating popcorn? Highly unlikely as it’s one of my few major addictions. But I’ll give it a wide berth for a couple of weeks until things heal up. Probably. πŸ™‚

We didn’t do anything terribly exciting during Richard’s time off, but that’s not to say that there wasn’t any excitement not of our doing. Losing all of our snow definitely counts as excitement in this part of the world. It was kind of a frustrating melt period as the progress seemed so slow for so long. Then, poof, what was left just vanished in the space of about three days. Nice! It was the perfect kind of melt in the end as there were no major ponds to deal with, and no snow mould left behind after the snow was gone. Well, no visible mould, anyway. My upper respiratory system has been telling me otherwise for the past few days, but c’est la vie. That’s a normal part of spring.

Then there were a few exciting moments of the pulse-pounding variety. Like a close encounter with a skunk one night when I sauntered out to bark at the moon before going to bed. By close I mean about fifteen feet or so, but when we’re talking about a skunk, that’s way too close for comfort. Luckily it kept its tail down and scurried away as fast as it’s short legs would let it scurry, so it was just a sighting, not a close encounter of the worst kind. Phew! Er …

Another evening I had to call the fire department out to extinguish the efforts of a couple of junior arsonists. We had managed to put out their first effort, but obviously they came back and had another go at it later. And no, I won’t go off on a rant about kids these days as I want to be able to digest my supper in a bit. Bold little monsters, though, as they knew that they had been seen the first time. Anyway, there wasn’t any real damage done to the property across the lane as I saw the fire both times before it really got going and reached the garage wall. Which is good. But what a waste of resources, having to call the fire department out to deal with that kind of thing. The potential damage if I hadn’t spotted the smoke is probably best not considered. Properties are quite close together here, plus there is a pole right beside the garage, supporting power, phone, etc. lines for a good number of us.

As for the taxes, they still aren’t done. I always do a rough run though to see how many of the stack of extra forms and such I’ll actually need to use. That rough run through almost made me faint, and put Richard in a mood that we don’t want to discuss. So, I threw everything back in the folder and slammed the filing cabinet door shut on it. We have until the end of April to file the papers, so they can wait. It was the wrong day to be doing such things, really, so perhaps a return visit under better circumstances will result in a much better outcome. At least I hope so. If not, somebody in government is going to be taking a very, very nice holiday at our expense. The three of us could fly to England with lots of spending money in our pockets, based on the figure we apparently owe. How depressing. It would be bad enough if it were based on actual income that we saw. But it isn’t. I’m not going to reveal our finances in detail here, but suffice it to say that Richard was forced to start collecting a small pension last year. Which was indexed, as he is still working. Fair enough, as there’s only so much to go around in social programs. The reduction meant that he only received pocket change each month, really, but he’s being taxed on the gross amount … three times over. Those who don’t do their own taxes, or who don’t pay close attention to the numbers won’t notice the triple gouge. But I spotted it and it makes my blood boil something awful. Especially as we already had it voluntarily taxed at source. Mutter, mutter.

But enough of all of that. Like I said I have to get to the kitchen, and the less I talk about the taxes and such, the better my chances of enjoying my supper! Happy belated birthday wishes to those whose special days I missed during my break. Mega hugs to those who were going through “stuff” , and I hope your days are brighening now. Oh, and hugs to the rest of you, too. πŸ™‚

Share a thought

