Daffodils in January


Gee, these quiet spells are becoming something of a habit. 😦 The last post doesn’t really count, as it was just an explanation thing, so it’s definitely time for a proper update of sorts. I left you hanging after my birthday post, which was rather rude! It has just been the usual fatigue thing keeping me quiet lately.

For the benefit of my new visitors, I’ve had Chronic Fatigue Syndrome for the past two years and a bit. Luckily it’s not the really severe version that so limits the lives of those who have it. But it definitely slows me down, and sometimes pretty much brings me to a halt for short periods. I cycle in and out of it, and when I hit the low spots, the brain goes into a complete fog. Which is when the blog goes quiet. But I complicated the matter this time by mucking around with some medication a bit. I have the doc’s permission to do that, but obviously it’s not such a hot idea, really. It was fine for the first couple of days, but then I discovered the error of my ways. At least now I definitely know that the prescribed dose is right. Ahem.

I haven’t done anything terribly interesting since my birthday as I’ve been so tired, but the birthday was certainly a splendid day. Just a quiet one with my family, but that’s exactly what I like best. They waited on me hand and foot all day, which is something I could definitely get used to! They also spoiled me with some perfect presents: some books off my wish list, a gift card with which to buy more books (yippee!), a print of an owl painting, and a gorgeous chocolate brown handbag. Oh, and a pot of miniature daffodils. Aren’t daffodils just the most cheerful of flowers, especially in January? But perhaps the nicest gift of all was the utterly splendid meal which Stephanie placed on the table that evening. Salmon fillet in an amazing creamy lime sauce (ooooh my!), shrimp sauteed with her own secret seasoning blend, assorted vegetable dishes, a delicious salad, and so on. I’m not a huge cake fan, really, so the birthday candles were stuck into a slab of this. Whoa! A little goes a long way, believe me. Oh, and the dear girl used 3 and 0 candles, rather than two 4s. Right on! Not that I mind being 44 in the least, but my head sort of stopped aging at 30, and it’s nice to see that others recognize that fact. πŸ™‚

The very thoughtful Pea had enclosed a little gift with her card, which I actually just used this morning. I woke up starving, and with a serious craving for a breakfast from Tim Horton’s, so used Pea’s gift certificates to buy one. Thank you! πŸ™‚ Their breakfast sandwiches are delicious, and a massive latte went very well with one, I must say. The latte is a new thing on their menu, as of Friday, along with espresso and cappuccino. Finally! I’ve been waiting and waiting for them to start making lattes, as that’s my favourite coffee treat. Now an endless supply is just a very short walk away. Oh darn! πŸ™‚ Their version beats Starbucks’ by far, I think, and for a fraction of the cost. Oh, and I’ll have you know that I have the distinction of having the very first latte sold at our local Tim’s. I feel so special. Stephanie popped in there Thursday evening, while they were having some practice runs with them, asked very politely if she could possibly buy one, even though they weren’t offically for sale yet, and scored for her old mom. Woot!

Now, much as I’d love to stay and chat longer, I must end here and get on with some jobs that have been waiting all week. No rest for the wicked, you know! πŸ˜‰ I’ll catch up with all of you properly in the next day or two, including you, Susie. Thanks so much for coming over to see me! I’ve been to your blog a few times, via Pea’s, but want to get over there for a proper read and to let you know that I’ve been there.

Until soon …

Share a thought

