2007 Begins

Good morning, all, and welcome to another year of my ramblings. 🙂

We’re off to an interesting start to the year already. As mentioned in the previous post we had a foot of snow dumped on us the night before last. Being a holiday weekend, the snow ploughs haven’t been in a huge hurry to get certain areas cleared out, including the lane beside our house. Richard and Stephanie cleared out in front of the garage last evening, and also shovelled away an area so that Richard could make the required sharp turn into the lane as he leaves the garage. But the rest of the 120 feet to the street is heavy with snow, even after the passage of a few vehicles through it yesterday. I deliberately crashed on the sofa last night and told Richard to wake me up this morning when he was ready to leave for work, as I figured that he’d need a push somewhere along the way. If he could keep the car moving, with me pushing from behind through the heaviest spots, he wouldn’t get bogged down and stuck. Well, being the gentleman that he is, he left me to my slumber. Bad idea. He almost made it, but got bogged down in a drift just a car length or so from the street. Isn’t that always the way?

So, I was ripped out of a deep sleep by his bursting through the back door, calling for help. Of course, I didn’t know what was what, and only heard the “can you help me” bit, in that tone of voice, so it was instant panic. When I found out what the problem was, I laughed, which didn’t help his mood any. If only he knew how minor a stuck car is compared to what I was thinking initially! Anyway, out I went and I probably could have pushed him out eventually. We were making progress, slowly but surely. However, a wonderful young man happened to be passing on the street, stopped, and came to give me a hand. Who says that this city isn’t full of good samaritans?! Two sets of muscles had Richard on his way quickly, I thanked the young man profusely, we exchanged New Year greetings, and he carried on to wherever he was going. Not the best way to start the new year in one way, but having my faith in humanity confirmed made it all worthwhile. The ploughs are in the immediate vicinity now, so things will be cleared out by the time Richard comes home this afternoon. I expect a phone call later to check on the situation, though!

My plans for the rest of the first day of the year are rather mundane. I’ve been so tired since Christmas that I haven’t kept up with the daily necessities. But the energy is coming back today, so I’ll tackle the overflowing laundry hamper and then see how far I get after that. Usually I put Christmas away on New Year’s Day, but we’ll see. The other stuff takes priority, and it won’t hurt to leave the undecorating until tomorrow.

Last evening was pretty quiet, but very enjoyable. Richard stayed up with us until midnight, which was a bit masochistic, as his alarm goes off at 5:00 on a work day. But it was a nice gesture, for sure. We did the usual board games and TV thing, with lots of nibbles and such to see us through. And that’s quite enough of the nibbles and other indulgences for a while. It gets to the yeuch point eventually, doesn’t it? I wouldn’t say that I crazily overindulged throughout the festive season, but any overindulgence and deviation from a healthy diet doesn’t do a lot for my fatigue situation. So, it’s back to healthier living today.

Now I suppose that a New Year’s Day post should include resolutions and goals for the coming year. Uh huh. I’ve never done the resolution thing, and I tend not to set goals anymore as they really don’t work for us. The minute we definitely decide to do something, a curve ball comes along to send the plan out the window. Which is not always a bad thing as what actually happens is often better than what we had in mind. But there is a certain element of frustration involved when plans go awry frequently. So now we just sort of fly by the seat of our pants and take whatever comes. We’re a pretty adaptable bunch and work well together as a team, so no worries.

If forced to commit to something, though, I’d say that it’s a desire to get some order back in my life. I’ve just sort of been coasting along for the past couple of years, due to circumstances, and I’d like to feel that I at least have a light hold on the reins again. I always used to be incredibly organized, and just drifting along doesn’t sit right at all. Getting a grip is possible, even with the ups and downs of the energy levels, so yes, that’s the one thing I do want to work on.

Now I’ll leave the musings there as the jobs are waiting. Hope this first day of the year is going well for all of you out there.

Share a thought

