Autumn

It’s here, folks. Summer was chased on its merry way over the weekend and autumn has arrived in earnest. Friday we were wilting in 32 C. heat, with a humidex of 36 degrees, and today it’s 7 C. with a cold autumn rain pouring down. Things change in a dramatic way in this part of the world. It has been raining pretty much steadily since Friday evening, which is most welcome after an extremely dry summer. Much too late in some ways, but at least it will give the grass, trees, shrubs, etc. a boost before they head into the tough winter season.

Autumn has always been my favourite time of year, regardless of what kind of summer has preceded it. I love the crisp clear air, the huge brilliant blue sky (except on a day like today, of course), and the gorgeous colours on the trees against that astonishingly blue sky. The harvest moon is high on my list of awesome wonders, too. The nights are closing in, and I love the cosy feeling that comes with drawing the drapes earlier on a cool evening. It’s always a liberating thing to get back out into the garden after a long winter, but it’s also a type of liberation when the gardening season comes to an end after a long, busy summer. There can be too much of a good thing, you know!

The change of season has me yearning for a new blog layout, so I’ll have to pester the young one to get one up for me one of these days. I know how to change from one “stock” layout to another, but don’t know how to do all of the coding for the fancy schmancy ones, which she does so well. I found the perfect image to use, so now it’s just a matter of convincing her to use it. Of course if I offer her a selection from the MAC cosmetics counter in payment for her time spent on the layout, she’ll be more than fine with it. She’d do it for free with a minimum of arm twisting, but I’ve seen how much time she puts into such things and she deserves some compensation. Especially as it will be taking up time she could be spending on making jewellery for sale.

The picture on this post is more late summer than autumn, but I nabbed it while hunting for something autumnish, as I have always intended to do a John Constable post at some point. I love his art anyway, but it took on a whole new significance when I met Richard. I won’t give you chapter and verse on Constable on my blog, but if you want to know more about him, you can head over here. The village of Dedham, Essex featured heavily in his work, as he lived in the area, and Dedham is where Richard was born and raised. So, he grew up amidst the lovely scenery in Constable’s paintings. Well, a century and some later, but things haven’t changed much in that area. The entire Stour Valley/Dedham Vale is protected by the National Trust, so much in the way of modernization is a no no. And thank goodness for that.

Like I said, I am a Constable fan in general, but the picture I chose here today is my absolute favourite. Richard brought a number of Constable prints with him when we got together, but not The Cornfield. However, I have a lovely friend in Ardleigh, just down the road from Dedham by a few miles, and she surprised me with a print of my fave a few years ago. When Richard last went “home”, he and his lifelong best mate took it upon themselves to find the exact spot from which this painting was done. And yes, they put themselves on the ground, in the same position as the little boy in the painting. I have the photographic evidence to prove it.

Oh, and for the benefit of the North Americans reading this, that is indeed a wheat field in the picture, and not what we call corn over here. Our wheat is their corn, and our corn is their maize. Just a bit of trivia for you.

Now I must away and get on with a few things, while thinking up something to make for supper. I had a tired weekend again, so have a bit of catching up to do today.

As you were.

Share a thought

