She’s Awake!

Hear ye, hear ye, the Shrew has arisen from her fainting couch. Thanks for all of the well wishes – what lovely people you are. Not that I didn’t already know that, but I thought I’d say it again, just for good measure. 🙂 I don’t have time today to do a proper catch up with you here and at your blogs, but I just thought I’d let you know that I’m back on my feet. Not running marathons, of course, but upright will suffice. I’ll catch up with you tomorrow, after we’re done paying tribute to the most important man in the house. Okay, the only man in the house, but that doesn’t diminish his importance. Oh no, not one little bit.

Yesterday we took him out for a rather scrummy lunch and today it’s decadent treats of his choice from our kitchen. Stephanie was going to whip up one of her gourmet feasts for supper, but now it’s her turn to occupy the fainting couch, for the same reason. What a pair we are. No mistaking which side of the gene pool she favours, for better or for worse. Anyway, I dashed out yesterday and got what I needed to create a gourmet delight of my own. Well, maybe not all that gourmet, but it’s Richard’s favourite “celebration” meal, and something that I only make for him on special occasions. It wouldn’t remain special otherwise, would it? It’s chicken and vegetable kebabs with roasted baby potatoes to the side. Sounds fairly simple, but there’s a lot of preparation involved, and a few touches that make it rather delicious, if I do say so myself. Dessert is a strawberry mango mousse cake. Mmmm. But don’t ask me for the cake recipe as I cheated and bought it. Didn’t feel like messing around with something like that at short notice. There was no need to plan any special activities for the day as he who is being honoured is quite happily occupying the sofa, watching his third World Cup match of the day.

Right, now I had better get to the kitchen to start the chopping and marinading. Hope all of you daddies out there are being treated with the appropriate amount of reverence today.

Share a thought

