6-6-6

Well, so much for the Doomsday prophecies. I gave myself a thorough check upon awakening this morning and I seem to still be alive and well. So is everyone else in my immediate vicinity, if appearances are anything to go by. It’s a sunny, breezy, bright blue sky, not a cloud in sight, perfect June day in the great outdoors. Birds are singing, my garden is looking perky after last night’s downpour, children are playing, the teenagers from the nearby high school are noisily doing their thing on their lunch break, and all seems to be right with the world. Fancy that.

I didn’t really expect it to be otherwise. Doomsday prophecies just make me roll my eyes, and I can’t say that I really believe in superstitions in general. I suppose that I subscribe to some minor ones, if I really think about it, but they’re probably more in the category of acquired habits than actual superstitions. I seem to recall having walked under a few ladders in my day, black cats have crossed my path many times, etc., and I’m still here to tell the tale. I’ve even looked at my reflection in a broken mirror on occasion, with no ill fortune following. Please note that the mirrors were broken before I stood in front of them. It’s important that you not get the wrong idea there.

I don’t scoff at those who are superstitious, as we’re all entitled to our own beliefs. I just roll my eyes at those who try to force their beliefs onto me. I don’t like being told how to think, under any circumstances. I respect what others believe/think/feel, and I’d appreciate it if they’d return the favour. Which is not to say that I’m not curious about what others think, and why they think it. It would be a boring old world if we were all on the exact same wavelength, wouldn’t it? It would also be a boring old world if we all closed our minds to the possibility of learning from others. Even if you don’t agree with someone’s point of view, you can learn from it. Vive la difference, and all that. Respectfully.

Now I’m really going to tempt fate by changing the time to match the date. The time now is actually smack in the middle between the two sixth minute of the sixth hour options, but whatever. Sometimes we’re allowed to cheat a bit to make things look good, right?

Best of luck to all of you for the rest of the day. Not that you’ll need it, of course.

Share a thought

