Happy St. Patrick’s Day

The Wish

I caught a little leprechaun,
quite wise and very old, and he said to me,
“You have one wish,
would you like my pot of gold?”

“No thank you,” was my quick reply,
“But how about another…
A gift that’s truly precious
and esteemed above all others?”

He offered then some emeralds,
rubies, sapphires, pearls
and a host of other treasures
that would make your senses whirl!

As I rejected all his list
his bright eyes flashed with fire
and, angrily, he said to me:
“What is it you desire?”

I said:

“A rainbow’s far more beautiful
than it’s supposed treasure
and the ‘rainbow’ that I’m wishing for
is priceless beyond measure.

“I’d like to have the dearest friends
a person ever had
to share in all the good times
and help me through the bad…

“To laugh and sing and joke with,
love and appreciate
as we live life’s greatest adventure
that would certainly be great!”

“Oh, now I know you’re daft!” he said
as he ran off with his pot…
“to waste your wish on something
you have already got!”

~Author Unknown~

3 thoughts on “Happy St. Patrick’s Day

  1. Happy St. Patrick's Day to you my friend!! A very beautiful poem indeed! I had planned on making a nice St. Patrick's Day entry in my blog too but apparently there is a problem with their server that my blog is on, I can't get into it at all since last night…but they say they are working on it so hopefully sometime today I will be able to get into my own blog! lol Have a greatttt day and remember to wear something green:-)

  2. Your blog is so special, Eleanor. I don't do scrapbooking but I know it takes a special talent to do it. And everytime I stop in here, I find myself thinking 'I'm going to Eleanor's scrapbooking project with its great photos and great poems. Love this one. Kind of reminds me of a friend just like you!

  3. Pea, it's a shame that you had to experience Blogger at its worst so early in your blogging experience. It's not a constant thing, but happens often enough that it's pretty annoying. With the brain only working efficiently some of the time, it's not nice when I come up with a great idea for a post and can't use it. By the time Blogger is working again, the idea has vanished back into the porridge between my ears. Hmph. 🙂 Roberta, you really, really know how to make my day! 🙂 Thanks so much for the lovely comment. I've never thought of my blog as a scrapbook, but I suppose that it is. Who knew? 🙂 Glad you liked the poem. It's not my usual “classic” fare, but it's nice to mix things up a bit now and then.

Share a thought

