Being Mom-ish

There’s not much happening around here these days, which is definitely not a bad thing. After last year when it was constant “something”, not much is very nice indeed. Doesn’t make for much blogging excitement, of course, but that’a minor detail.

So, let’s see what I can think of to tell you about. Laundry? Nah. Other daily mundane tasks? Er, no, I don’t even want to think about them, let alone talk about ’em. Flying through the letter pile at long last? Well, interesting to me, and hopefully to the recipients of the letters/novels, but probably not all that thrilling to you. Um, er …

Oh, I crocheted a scarf for Stephanie the other day, on request. She taught herself to knit not long ago and took to it like a duck to water, as is generally the case when she tackles anything new of a creative nature. I learned how to knit as a kid, but it was never really my thing. Being a leftie, with righties attempting to teach me how to get beyond the basics, it was kind of a lost cause. In the space of about two days she easily passed my skill level, and has progressed way, way, way beyond it in the space of a few weeks. However, her attempt to knit a scarf for herself in a very lacy pattern just wasn’t turning out the way she pictured it. So, I grabbed some scrap yarn, played around with a crochet hook for a few minutes, and voila, there was the pattern of the scarf of her dreams. Good, aren’t I? She ripped out her knitting in double-quick time, handed the ball of yarn to me, and off I went.

I haven’t crocheted in awhile, so it was nice to have hook in hand again. It got me thinking that it’s time to tackle a major project again. The afghan on our bed is one I made at least 20 years ago and it’s starting to show its age. Thus, I think that a replacement is definitely in order. I’ve crocheted loads of things in the years since, but they’ve all been for Stephanie or to give away as gifts. So, I’m due to tackle a major project for myself, for a change.

But first, I have a couple more scarves to make. Stephanie dashed out yesterday and bought yarn for another for herself (same pattern, different colour), and also bought a skein for me to make one for myself, since I was rather envious of hers when it was finished. Envious of the design, that is, not the colour. No danger of me stealing it as hot pink really isn’t my thing … especially after she added orange tassles. Yikes. But oddly, it somehow works. A bit hard on the eyes, but it works. Her next one will be bright turquoise blue with lime green tassles. Oi.

Now, since she bought the yarn for my scarf, I’ll bet that you’re just dying to know what colour she came up with, considering the above choices for herself. Okay, wait for it. You’re gonna freak. Ready? Are you sure? Extra sure? Okay … here it comes …. sure you’re ready? Alrighty, if you’re extra, extra sure. It is the most shocking, eyeball-assaulting, grab the sunglasses before I go blind, dizzying shade of ………. winter white. Yeah, I know, I felt kind of let down, too. Oh well, it’s the thought that counts, I guess. I’m just not sure if I like the fact that her thoughts about my tastes are so, well, Mom-ish.

But wait, there will be scraps of the pink, orange, turquoise and lime, and my scarf will need tassles, too. Hmm. Time for a redefinition of Mom-ish, methinks. Oh yes, indeed.

Share a thought

