Fame and Fortune

Whee, my little old home town has hit the news … and for a good reason. I really, really like this idea and I hope that the powers that be in the town go for it.

Speaking of said thriving metropolis, here’s a bit of trivia for you. Have any of you ever seen this movie? The one that Russell Crowe made on this side of the Atlantic before he hit the really big time, that is. Well, a lot of the filming took place in and around my old stomping ground. Big stuff for a little town on the prairies, you know. Big, big stuff indeed.

8 thoughts on “Fame and Fortune

  1. Ah! Manitoba… you gotta love a place that sees winter for seven months of the year and has Mosquitoes the size of elephants… what… what do you mean they're smaller than that? Ha! I've seen them… Oh, and did you know:Elephants are grey and aspirin is white so you don't get the two mixed up? True.

  2. No, I didn't know that, Alexandra. I feel so enlightened now! πŸ™‚ As for the mossies, yup, we grows 'em big here. But the Winnipeg version seem to be especially huge. I spent the first nearly 30 years of my life in southwestern Manitoba and don't recall mosquitoes being half as bad in that part of the province. Still got seven months of winter over that way, though!

  3. ahhhh, but I bet neither of your ladies have seen the skeeters from Oromocto, New Brunswick. mmmmmI think they may give your Manitoba skeets a run for your money! *giggle*

  4. “Many of the buildings have been standing for a century or more” – bloody hell, we have outside toilets older than that!Thus spake the olde European.

  5. I'll take your word for it, Lena. Mosquito comparing in person really isn't my thing, for all of the obvious reasons! πŸ˜‰

  6. I'd recommend it, if you can get your hands on it, Desiree. I won't say that it's the best movie ever made, but it is a good story and I liked it for far more than the local interest. Lots of good characters and character development. It just ended a bit weakly for my liking, but still rated a few sniffles in the final moments. Oh, oh, oh, and you get to see LOTS of Russell Crowe … if you get my drift. πŸ˜‰

  7. I was expecting a comment like that from someone over your way, YS.Something a hundred years old is definitely a baby in Europe, but it's ancient here. My home town was incorporated as a town in 1882 and was one of the first in what was then pretty much just wilderness in that part of the province. My great-grandparents were settlers to the area in the late 1880s and broke the sod, literally, on what became the family farm where I grew up. So, with that as my reference point, I really can't get my head around the age of buildings in Europe. I mean, just considering the historical events that have taken place in and around them is utterly mind-boggling. For instance, the church in Richard's village of birth was built in 1400 or so, and it's foundation is partially that of an ancient church from 800 or thereabouts. Then there's nearby Colchester with its castle built on the foundation of a Roman temple, the Siege House sporting “battle wounds” from the Civil War, and on it goes. Jeez!

Share a thought

