Mr. Romantic

The man of the house comes in from work today, trying to be unusually quiet.

“Ah”, thinks I, “he’s been doing some birthday shopping.” Not much gets past me, you see.

Sure enough, he jumps a foot off the floor when I walk around the corner into the kitchen, and backs into the porch with “that look” on his face. I give him the all knowing grin and beat a retreat into the living room so that he can dash past with whatever he has not too well hidden behind his back. Much muttering ensues, then a sigh. “Oh, you might as well come and get this because I’ll never be able to wrap it and I can’t think of where to hide it. I know that it’s a couple of days early, but here, happy birthday.”

“Ooh, what could possibly be in that big box? Hehehe. Oh!”

“Do you like it?”

“Um, give me a second to recover as I’m a bit blown away here. Er, yessss. Yes, I do.”

“Oh god, no you don’t. It’s ok, I’ll go back out and get you something else.”

“Get back here and stop being so silly. You just took me by surprise, that’s all. It’s great, and I really mean that. “

What was it, I hear you asking? Why, one of these. 😀 Obviously he was paying attention as I muttered away to myself on New Year’s Day while cleaning out the filing cabinet. Paying attention is a very good thing!

It’s definitely not the kind of gift that he usually gives me, but hey, I do like it. A lot! And for more than the practical reasons. Anyone who knows me really well will understand that, but I’m not going to even try to explain it to the masses. Some things defy explanation. 😉 Suffice it to say that it’s related to my stationery and writing implements addiction … in a roundabout sort of way.

Oh, and there were a couple of big bottles of this stuff hidden inside. Specifically the last two scents on the list. I like them a lot, too.

What a guy – pays attention and understands all facets of my “unique” personality. A prince among men.

4 thoughts on “Mr. Romantic

  1. Eleanor a very happy bihrthday to you, but what did you get, I'm still none the wiser, the link to the first one doesn't show anything, it just asks for my postcode.

  2. Oops, thanks for pointing that out, Wosser. I forgot that I was signed into my account with them when I grabbed the URL. Link changed to same object, different source.Thanks for the greeting, too! 🙂

Share a thought

