Greetings of the Season

As at least some of you know, my husband is a psychiatric nurse, who manages a unit in a large long term care facility. He and the activity worker for his unit were putting their heads together the other day, planning their activities, decorations, etc. for the unit during the Christmas season. As is the case with Winnipeg in general, the unit is home to people from a wide variety of ethnic origins, many of whom still primarily speak their mother tongue. The same applies to the staff on the unit. So, they thought that it would be a nice idea to make some kind of decoration for the door of each resident’s room with a Merry Christmas greeting for each in their own mother tongue. Also, they’ll put up a banner or something at the nursing station with a similar greeting for staff in their various mother tongues.

One of the perks of being wife of the boss is that I get enlisted to help with such things. So, I’ve been hunting around on the Internet this morning, in search of the appropriate way to say Merry Christmas in each of the languages on the list. The problem is that there are variations between sources, so that’s where you good people come in. I know that I have readers from all over the world, so you’ll be able to authenticate at least some of the required greetings for me, if you’d be so kind.

The languages I need are:

Slovakian, Tagalog (Filipino), Ukrainian, Slovenian, Romanian, Portuguese, Italian, Polish, Icelandic, German, Dutch, and a couple of native North American languages, specifically Cree and Ojibway (Ojibwe).

Spanish and French were on the list, too, but those I knew. Oh, and English, too, suprisingly. ๐Ÿ™‚

Just leave a comment if you can help. Thanks very much!

Oh, and if you speak a different language from the above, please leave a comment anyway, telling me how you say Merry Christmas or the equivalent in your mother tongue. I like to know these things. ๐Ÿ™‚

11 thoughts on “Greetings of the Season

  1. I know you say you already know the English for Merry Christmas, but just in case I thought I'd try and help out, it looks a bit like this;”BAH HUMBUG!

  2. Oh dear, Eleanor, I'm only good for English and French – none of the others on your list. Goodluck! Sounds like a great idea for the unit! I don't believe I knew before this of your husbands positon as Psych nurse, manager. What an interesting job! (bet you two met in a hospital — not that you were a psych patient, but, you used to work in hospitals, right?).

  3. Merry Christmas in Polish is:Wesoล‚ych ลšwiฤ…t Bo ลผego Narodzenia(Wesolych Swiat Bozego Narodzenia, without the accents).Hope this helps! ๐Ÿ™‚ What a lovely idea.

  4. Btw, to say it…it's a bit of a tongue twister…here is my phonic version of it:Veh-soh-weh Shi-vyont Bo-jeh-goh Nah-rodz-eh-nyahthe “j” in “jeh” is harder but similar to the j in “jardin” in French. Hope it makes sense. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Okay, Scrooge, er, Wosser. None of that attitude around here, thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚ But I have to confess that I have been guilty of some serious “BAH HUMBUG” moods some years. Finally figured out a couple of years ago that the Scrooge mood is related to too much exposure to the retail aspect of Christmas. The shop, shop, shop mantra of the retailers does my head in! I love spoiling people, but that's only a small aspect of the Christmas season, thanks!Ahem, Desiree. Despite my occasional displays of borderline madness, I will have you know that I have never been admitted to a psychiatric hospital! I know that you were joking, but I could understand if it had crossed your mind in a serious way! ๐Ÿ™‚ You're right about Richard and me meeting at work. Luckily for me, Richard decided to get away from the psych. hospital environment after 25 years of it, and made the switch to long term care. One day I went to work and, lo and behold, there was this new guy getting some orientation for a charge nurse position on my shift. Little did I know then what would transpire a few years down the road! Thank you so much, Kinuk. That's a huge help. Thanks for the pronunciation key, too. I've heard lots of Polish since moving to Winnipeg, so know how it sounds, including the “j”. But I've never been able to directly compare written with spoken sound before. Interesting!

  6. Does “Errymay Istmascray” qualify for those of us that are only bi-lingual enough to speak either English or Pig Latin?

  7. Richard has a great idea. How are you going to make the door greetings? I will ask the bloggers on my blogroll to help you out too.

Share a thought

