Wakey Wakey!

Yee haw! Tantrum has run its course and it’s click the heels time. ‘Tis the night of the year to which I look forward verra verra muchly. As do those with whom I reside. Toodle-oo to evil DST and helloooo lovely CST!!

“That’s the way, uh huh uh huh
I like it, uh huh uh huh…”

Yippee, woo hoo, woot woot, and so on.

The six month fog is about to lift and the gal’s gonna start firing on all cylinders from now until next April. Oh yeah.

Meals will be prepared on time, I’ll get some serious sleep at night, the wage earner will come home to a smilin’, welcomin’ little wifey, and the former tax deduction will have her ever so cool, ever so fun, ever so hip and happenin’ mommeh back. In theory, at least.

Daylight Savings Time sucks, big-time. Hate it, hate it, hate it. Always have and always will. You can shake your head all you want and give me all the lectures you like about a single solitary hour not making much of a difference to one’s well-being. I’ll ignore the head shaking completely and tell you that you’re wrong, wrong, wrong. Come and live with me for a year if you want proof.

“That’s the way, uh huh uh huh
I like it, uh huh uh huh
That’s the way, uh huh uh huh …”

And a generous reward to the first person who can get that hideous song out of my head, with the vilest of curses on whoever put it there. I’m so NOT going to hit the sheets with K.C. and the Sunshine Band still rattling around in the cranium. The dream possibilities are way too scary to contemplate! Spangled polyester jumpsuits … screeeeeeeeam!!!!!!

3 thoughts on “Wakey Wakey!

  1. I've only been visiting your site a very short time, but I've already formed the opinion that while you are quite clearly a lovely person, you are also quite MAD!

  2. Puhhhlease don't get me started on Daylight Saving Time. We don't get it where I live, but OTHER States of my fair country do. Go figure! The State I live in is ideal for DST because of our wonderful weather yaer round, yet in a public referendum back in 1990, DST was decided by the majority of the people who live in this State that we won't have it here. Dammit! So, now my father and sister are on DST in the State that they live and any time I wish to call them on the phone, I have to remember that they're now an hour ahead of me and not to call them at some ungodly hour.The whole thing SUCKS!*RANT MODE OFF*

  3. Wow, you catch on quickly, Wosser! 🙂 Thus far the madness is merely an intermittent thing, but I suspect that it will get worse with time. Ok, I won't get you started, Leigh. 🙂 But I didn't know that your part of Oz doesn't do the DST thing. It's not universal here, either. Saskatchewan, just to the west of us, stays on CST year round. I'm not sure if that will change in 2007, though. Manitoba has already agreed to lengthen the DST period by a month (*sobs, throws self on floor flailing fists and feet*), and I believe that most, if not all, other provinces are expected to follow suit. All because some bright spark in the American government came up with the extend DST scheme and we have to keep up for the sake of trade, or something. Sounds fishy to me, but nobody in government asks my opinion on these things, do they? The whole DST thing is a major bunch of hooey, anyway, even when you go back to its roots in this country. I grew up on a farm, as you know, and the extra hour of daylight at the end of the day didn't make much difference most of the time. Field work depends on moisture, as in dew, not just amount of light. So, even if the light is there, often it's too damp for swathing, baling, combining or whatever by late evening. Furthermore, I really, really, don't see the benefit of bumping it up by a few weeks in our climate. Do I really want an extra hour in the evening to gaze out at the remaining few feet of snow that refuse to melt? No!But if someone wants to put up a convincing argument for the other side, go for it. I'm all ears. I won't change my mind, probably, but I'll listen.:)

Share a thought

