Three-year-old Logic

“Hi Auntie Eleanor.”

“Hi Gillian”.

“Thank you for the Halloween stickers and the letter. I loved them.”

“You’re very welcome. Are you getting excited about Halloween?”

“Oh yes! I can’t wait to go trick or treating.”

“Are you going to share your loot with your mom?”

“Um, … silence … “

“Are you there, Gillian?”

“Uh huh, but moms can’t eat Halloween candy. It’s just for kids.”

“Oh no, not at all. Stephanie used to share her stuff with me, but of course she kept all of the really good stuff and gave me the junk.”

*giggle* “Ok,then I guess I can share with Mom. I don’t really like apples, so she can have those.” *giggle*

“Well, maybe let her have one chocolate bar or something else that she really likes, since she has to walk all over town with you, ok? I hear that you have a really spiffy witch costume to wear on Halloween.”

“Uh huh, but you can’t tell Mom, ok, ’cause it’s a surprise.”

“Um, ok, but didn’t your mom buy the costume for you?”

“Yup, but I don’t want her to know what it is until Halloween, so it’ll be a surprise, ok?”

“Um … sure.”

“Do you have Halloween at your house, Auntie Eleanor?”

“Indeed we do, but Stephanie is too big for trick or treating now, so it’s just kids coming to our door. That’s lots of fun, too, though.”

“Can I come to your door, Auntie Eleanor? I’ll be the witch, so you’ll know me.”

“Aww, I wish you could, Gillian, but we live too far away for you to come here on Halloween. But there will be lots of other witches at the door, I’m sure, so I’ll pretend that you’re one of them.”

“Lots of witches? How can you have lots of witches? How many come to your door?”

“We had about fifty kids last year, but sometimes it’s more and sometimes less. Just depends. And probably about ten witches came to see us last year.”

“Fifty?! And ten witches? You’re teasing me, Auntie Eleanor. There aren’t even fifty people in the whole world and nobody else has ever dressed up as a witch. I know these things.”

And how, pray tell, does one argue with a very sharp three-year-old who “knows these things”?!

11 thoughts on “Three-year-old Logic

  1. Three and four have to be just the most magical ages in children. They're old enough to be little people, yet young enough to be so totally naive and innocent. Everything is wondrous and magical to Gillian right now, just as it was to Stephanie at that age. They look nothing alike, but their personalities at the same age are almost identical. Another non-conformist bohemian in the making, methinks. 🙂

  2. Oh yes, God Daughter will be FORCED to share her chocolates on Monday evening, it's very important that they learn to share.Usually this works like so, Ellie wolfs down her chocolates, then WE share MINE, great.PS. It's no wonder the spambots can't read the word verification, nor can I!

  3. Aww, aren't you an old softie, Uncle Mikey? 🙂 Don't try and tell me that a share of the chocolate is your only motivation for taking Ellie out that night! It's a blast taking the little ones around and I miss it. I definitely live too far away from my little nieces and nephews sometimes. Sigh. Oh, and nice to see that Ellie knows how the loot sharing works. Doesn't take them long to learn that, does it?I know what you mean about the word verification. Yeesh. I've misfired a few times myself, but at least you get to try again, and the second chance is usually more readable than the first. If I get a lot of complaints I can remove it, though. Better having to delete a bunch of spam than having the good commenters discouraged from saying their piece.

  4. Oh pish, Wosser. It just depends on your interpretation of Halloween. Its origins are actually in the Catholic Church, as in All Hallows Eve, the eve before All Saints Day. But then the Celtic Pagans grabbed it and, well, the rest is history. So your comment is quite valid, but quite arguable, too. And I choose to argue … since it's my blog 😉 But don't let that stop you from coming back, of course. Nice to see you over this way … questionable opinions and all. 😀

  5. Well thats me told!Contoversial, thats me, usually for the sake of it, to try and get a response, so it worked.Love your site, must pop in more often.

  6. And here I thought my mom knew everything! Halloween actually started way before Jesus hit the soil. The Celts celebrated Samhain (their New Year) on the 1st. Thus the 31st was their New Year's Eve. They believed that on the 31st, the borders separating the lands of the living and the lands of the dead blurred and the ghosts of the dead could walk the earth. To celebrate, crops were burned and sacrifices were made. To avoid being recognized by the undead, it was ceremony to wear masks so they would be mistaken for ghosts.It is more than likely that the Catholic Church took this major holiday and put their spin on it so they could convert more of the 'heathens' without forcing them to give up a major holiday.Don't even get me started on Christmas.

  7. Darling Daughter,Of course your essay is correct. However, your mother was referring to the name Halloween, not the origins of the festival itself. And it was also a tongue in cheek rebuttal, so historical accuracy is neither here nor there, really.But nice to see that the pedantic gene has been passed on so well. 😉

Share a thought

