What to Do?

We were supposed to get some kind of squash in our organic Fresh Box this week. But, thanks to a problem with their source, they decided to substitute fennel instead. I’d have rather had the squash, really, as I’m not a fan of fennel, at least not on its own. However, I’ve only tried it the once and am willing to give it another go … if I can find a recipe in which it’s combined with other ingredients to cut the flavour a bit. I like licorice so I don’t totally hate the flavour of fennel. I just found it a bit strong when cooked on its own, as did the other members of the household. Mind you, that was standard semi-wilted supermarket stuff and perhaps the ultra-fresh organic stuff we got last evening might be better. But still, I don’t want to waste it by cooking it on its own again, lest it get the same reaction.

Any fennel fans out there with a suggestion for a dish in which to incorporate it?

2 thoughts on “What to Do?

  1. Is this the fennel bulb, rather than the ferny foliage? Fennel is really nice in an apple salad. Thinly slice the fennel and apples with a sprinkle of lemon juice. Add orange slices or berries, if you like. Tastes lovely.My personal favorite is sauteed fennel chunks added to something like scallops or mussels and tossed with olive oil and served on a bed of linguine. And cracked pepper. Lots of cracked pepper. 🙂

  2. Thank you so much Kate. They gave us the whole bulbs with foliage attached, but it was indeed the bulb part for which I was wanting advice. Both of your suggestions sound delicious and, with two bulbs, we can try both. Thanks again! 🙂 Oh, and I'm totally with you on the pepper … no such thing as too much cracked pepper!!

Share a thought

