Shudder

I’ve heard the above item occasionally called a “husband beater”, but purely as a private “between us girls” joke. And I’ve smirked at said reference because of the context in which it was said.

The below item is now marketed as a “wife beater”, and commonly referred to as same by wearers of either gender. Which I don’t find the least bit amusing or “cute”. I’ve also heard girls refer to them as “boy beaters”, which I don’t like any better. I’m as sick of the PC police as anyone, but either name just really, really makes me cringe, no matter whose mouth it comes from, and regardless of how low the chances of them actually beating anyone might be.

Can we please just go back to calling them white tank tops or vests?

5 thoughts on “Shudder

  1. Tank top? Here, they're known as singlets! *G* And Pat Rafter wears them best. *siiigh*http://www.bonds.com.au/men/muwRange68d5.html?range=Singlets%20%26%20Tees

  2. SINGLET- that's the word I was trying to think of when I was writing this post. Thanks Leigh. I knew that I'd heard a third term and it just would not come to mind. Hate it when that happens, don't you?! Richard calls such things by that name, as did my dad. Tank top is probably something my generation invented. Doesn't make a lot of sense when you think about it, but at least it's better than the new name for them. And trust you to miss the point, woman! One track mind, or what?! 😀

  3. I have not heard of them as 'wife beaters', however, if people are doing that I do agree that they should indeed go back to the term undershirt or singlet.

  4. Let's hope that the term never spreads your way, Desiree. Actually, this misuse of the term is related to yours, YS. Picture the not so nice stereotype associated with white singlets, before they became a modern fashion statement. A very drunk, greasy, fat, slurring, grunting, bullying brute with stains and cigarette burns all down the front of his once white singlet, big meaty fists poised, ready to send his cowering wife into next week for daring to breathe in his general direction. Hence my offended sensitivities. Especially after hearing a young man joke about wearing one giving him permission to live up to the stereotype. Not funny, bud, especially given the history of violence in his family.

Share a thought

