Confessions of a Chocoholic

First off, as you’ll have noticed, the recipe in the post below isn’t the one promised. That’s coming in a bit as soon as I type it up. But the brownie one is more special as it’s one of Stephanie’s own creations. And yup, it’s very, very scrummy. I’m not a big fan of Kahlua in its natural state, but it certainly adds a yummy kick to these brownies. Just a little note about the pan size quoted – a regular oblong cake pan does quite nicely, so don’t go hunting around for an off-size. Thanks for sharing your “secret” recipe, Stephanie. 🙂

Now I’m off to type up the other recipe, but how about I make you lot earn it while I’m off doing that? I’m always curious about the “little things” about people, and the chocolate theme these days has me wondering about your chocolate habits. Ehm, that’s habits as in your eating preferences only. Any other things that consenting adults do with chocolate in the privacy of their own home are none of my business! 🙂 I’m curious, not intrusively nosy!! Unless you REALLY want to share, of course …. Hehe.

1. What is/are your favourite kind(s) of chocolates?
2. What kinds will be left behind in a selection box after you’ve picked out all of the good ones?
3. What’s your favourite kind of chocolate bar?
4. What’s your favourite food item containing chocolate?
5. White, milk or dark?

Of course it’s not fair to ask you without revealing my own secrets, right?

1. Nuts (especially hazelnuts) and caramel in combination is sheer bliss, but I’m happy with either alone.
2. Maraschino cherry chocolates (shudder), fruit creams, coffee cream.
3. Probably a Cadbury Crunchie, but just about anything from Cadbury will do. Except Fruit and Nut.
4. Chocolate cheesecake. No thought needed for that one. 🙂
5. I don’t like white at all, really, but it’s a toss-up between milk and dark, depending on what’s under the chocolate. If it’s a very sweet filling I prefer dark on the outside. But for just a chunk of chocolate on its own, it’s milk chocolate all the way.

Your turn now!

4 thoughts on “Confessions of a Chocoholic

  1. 1. I enjoy chocolate covered almonds and white chocolates… I suppose any with nuts2. The ewy gooey creamy ones of unknown content!3. Hersheys Cookies 'n Cream MMmmmm!4. Mocha… I love a Tim Hortons Mocha with a smidge of whipped cream on top5. White or Milk for me, not into dark as I find it too strong for my paletteGood to see the recipe has been typed, I was so excited earlier today I was just plain happy to see ANY recipe here! I have now printed off both.

  2. Hi Eleanor. Is it okay if I do this little mem right here?1. Milk chocolate, oh yes.2. Years ago I worked at a bank and the customers brought us scads of chocolates at Xmas time. I poked holes in them all because I only wanted hard centres. The other employees discovered who had crushed all the chocolates and put me on the floor after hours and force-fed me every chocolate I had crushed. I now take (and enjoy) any chocolate I pick whether there is an identifier map or not!3. Aero – oh yes – 'ust 'et it melt.4. Brownies (homemade) with lots of walnuts and lots of icing.5. Milk chocolateOne other tiny note – I heard recently that coffee with chocolate treats enhances the chocolate flavor, and I am absolutely convinced it does do just that.

  3. 1) chocolate covered almonds, glosettes, chocolate in baking.2) cream filled. ew. fruit filled (other than dried fruits), maple cream filled.3) fruit and nut, the bubbly cadbury ones, glosettes.4) chocolate cake. mmm.5) dark.

  4. Hmm, the general concensus seems to be that cream centres are the worst. Great minds think alike! :)LOL, Roberta – “'ust 'et it melt”. 🙂 Totally true, though. Chewing an Aero is a cardinal sin. I'm that way with my Crunchie bars, too. Take a little bite and let the chocolate/sponge toffee combo melt away on my tongue. Mmmm. As for the “lesson” from your former co-workers, that would have likely worked more as aversion therapy for me. Being force-fed the disgusting ones would have put me off chocolates for life! Interesting note about the coffee and chocolate. Now that I think about it, you're absolutely right. And, if I don't have a cup of coffee already, I really want one when I'm eating a chocolate treat. So, I guess that means that Daddy-O gets all of the cream and maraschino cherry chocolates, eh Steph? 😀 Oh, except for the maple cream. That's the one exception to my cream filling aversion. You two can fight over the dark chocolate … unless it's covering caramel or some such thing. Bags me those ones!

Share a thought

